SBI Cashback Credit Limit

• Thread starter Thread starter ak1423
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 64
  • Views Views 5K

ak1423

Is SBI giving decent credit limit on cashback card currently. I have limit of 1lk on hdfc,axis and 3L limit on Amex cards. I am careful in applying as I doesn't want to get a card with 10-20k limit. Have anyone applied Recently?

I think it is better to not activate it if we get 10-20k limit..cibil wil suffer due to utilisation
Isn't that cibil calculates utilization across all credit card (combined limit)?

Also on side note, I think SBI is highly unpredictable. They can reject the application even if one have 800 cibil. So you will get your answer once you apply.

Isn't that cibil calculates utilization across all credit card (combined limit)?

Also on side note, I think SBI is highly unpredictable. They can reject the application even if one have 800 cibil. So you will get your answer once you apply.
I will keep mum till my sbi card is in progress
For verification purpose

yes... utilization ratio is calculated on combined limit... but banks also keep an eye on their card's utilization...if its high then they refrain to LE as you are a credit dependent person

Is SBI giving decent credit limit on cashback card currently. I have limit of 1lk on hdfc,axis and 3L limit on Amex cards. I am careful in applying as I doesn't want to get a card with 10-20k limit. Have anyone applied Recently?
If you are new to SBI Cards then they will try to match your credit limit to the highest credit limit reported in your CIBIL but if you already have a SBI Card then limit of SBI Cashback card will depend on existing card. Like if your existing SBI card is eligible for limit increase offer then they might give the same LE amount in Cashback card or If there is no LE offer in your existing card then they might deduct 10k or 20k from your existing card and assign it to Cashback card. 😶‍🌫️🤣😂

P.S. This is my personal experience.

Using Cashback card since 15 months with the initial limit of 10k. I am using around 20-30k every month with that card. And my SimplyClick card's limit is 200k.
Even after sharing my salary details of 100k, they are not increasing my limit saying internal policy. And they are not giving shared limit also... Weird algo!
Mine Simply click card's limit is 222k, Cashback with 30k limit & no limit increase offer since December 2022

Even if I use full 10k also, my overall utilisation is around 2-3% only because of other loans & credit cards. So no issues with credit score.
And yes, those who have only 1 or 2 cards should not max out the 30% limit.
Even individual card utilisation also matters is what I learnt when I went through credit scores threads

When I applied for my first SBI card a couple of years ago. I got only ~3L limit. and that time I used to hold only 2 cards.
At the same time, my colleague received an SBI card with ~10L limit.

The point is he used to have at least 6 cards at that time. His salary was less than mine. And also my CIBIL was better.
The only plus point I can think of in his profile is that he has a home loan from SBI.

I got SBI cashback card last month with 3.61 lakhs limit. This is my 3rd SBI card. The first one was SBI prime in 2015. At that time it was SBI Platinum card. Limit was 2.12 lakhs which I closed last year. The second one was BPCL Octane of limit only 58k which I got in August 2023. I applied for the cashback card through Sprint platform and they asked me for payslips as I told them I wont activate the card if less than 3 lakhs limit is sanctioned.

How did you convince them for this?
Emailed to whom?
As soon as I submitted the application, the result came that application is declined for Cashback card. Then I got a call from SBI Cards Kolkata team who said that I had applied for SBI Cashback card. I told them that I need minimum 3 lakhs limit else I dont need the card. They arranged for Video KYC for next day and it was approved. Got the card a week later. I tore open the envelope to find the limit at more than 3 lakhs. Then I activated the card. Didn't mail anyone .

SBI is shit to be honest. I've SBI Prime with 3.6 lac limit but only 20K for my Cashback card. I've requested them several times to transfer my limit but to no avail. I've already tried calling them, writing mails & even on twitter. Planning to close my Prime, maybe that will work. Any ideas anyoe?

My application is in progress and the tentative limit is described as 32k to 40k.
Never had a card offered below 1.3L.

Is it possible to make the payment and then use again within the same cycle?

SBI is shit to be honest. I've SBI Prime with 3.6 lac limit but only 20K for my Cashback card. I've requested them several times to transfer my limit but to no avail. I've already tried calling them, writing mails & even on twitter. Planning to close my Prime, maybe that will work. Any ideas anyoe?
I was in the same situation. Prime limit was 5L and Cashback limit came out to be 10K

Put a request for card closure on SBI cards app. Retention team will call and tell them that the reason for card closure is low limit. They will increase.

Although I did this more than a year back. Not sure about current behaviour, but retention team can do a lot of things which regular cc executives will not be able to