ICICI Amex Reward Point Devaluation

NOOBY

Received mail from Wealth Management team

ICICI Bank Sapphiro American Express Card RP would now earn only 2 RP per ₹100 (same as MC/Visa) for Domestic Transactions from 25th September 2023 (Received mail today on 27th Sept at 1300 hrs :D )

Sapphiro Amex:
TypeOld Reward RateNew Reward Points rate per ₹100
International6RP4RP
Domestic3RP2RP
Fuel, Insurance & Utility1RP1RP

Now all Cards will earn same RP value

NOOBY

All thanks to people who were holding triple variant sapphiro cards ig
Ab lene ka koi faida nahi raha :p

Kaun bol rha tha k ICICI devalue nhi ho sakta kyuki wo pehle se hi devalued hai ? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Same :D

So they are devaluing something that doesn't even have any value in the first place? sweet. Sapphiro Dual variant user here
Even I have Dual variant and was planning to get Visa, now it seems I should actually just move to Visa and close these 2

Merchant EMI offers doesn't work on Amex card anyway... I was using it only to get whatever RPs we could get for ICICI spends, now that all 3 are same, makes no sense to make AMEX company richer (they charge higher MDR anyway so bad of sellers)

NOOBY

In the similar context, if a card has let's say xRs. Annual fee with renewal benefit of yRs. mentioned while onboarding a customer. How can they change the fees or remove the renewal benefit?
The language they use in MITC can be twisted as per their will

what it basically means is that they are give **their** product to you for using, and they can change it in any way anytime, without asking you or anyone as its their product and you are free to stop using their product (or return/close it) if you are not happy with the changes

CMG

any link to the said rule so that it can be sent to ICICI/RBI ?
CHAPTER – V
GENERAL GUIDELINES FOR CREDIT AND DEBIT CARDS
24. Terms and conditions for issue of cards to customers
(f) The terms may be altered by the card-issuer, but 30 days’ notice of the change shall be given to the cardholder to enable him/her to withdraw if he/she so chooses. After the notice period of 30 days, the cardholder would be deemed to have accepted the terms if he/she had not withdrawn during the specified period. The change in terms shall be notified to the cardholder through all the communication channels available.