ICICI Coral RuPay card getting 1 reward point for every ₹200 spent instead of getting 2 reward points for every ₹100.

CosmicCat

I recently got my pre-approved ICICI Coral RuPay LTF credit card. I've done four transactions with it already, but I noticed that the reward points were credited for none of the transactions.

The bottom card in the below screenshot is the Platinum Visa one, whose reward structure is the same as that of Coral RuPay. And, as you can see, the reward point is credited for the single transaction I did with it.

Anybody else experiencing it? I'll try to raise a complaint if it continues to happen in the future.

EDIT: It appears that for the Coral RuPay credit card, they are providing 1 reward point for every ₹200 spent (i.e., 0.5% reward rate) instead of providing 2 reward points for every ₹100 spent (i.e. 2% reward rate).

EDIT 2 (08-May-2024): It looks like the problem has been resolved automatically without any complaint. I'm getting correct reward points now.

Screenshot_2023-12-31-01-04-07-85_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12~4.jpg

timva

Update: I wrote to them on 12 Dec regarding incorrect reward rate. Today, after 28 days they have credited 13 points 😄 for those transactions as per actual reward rate.
Don't know if they have fixed the issue for future transactions or not.
Share the SS of mail/sms recieved from them......
They are just extending timeline for me🙄

CosmicCat

Update: I wrote to them on 12 Dec regarding incorrect reward rate. Today, after 28 days they have credited 13 points 😄 for those transactions as per actual reward rate.
Don't know if they have fixed the issue for future transactions or not.
ICICI Bank is badly broken lately. I can't fathom how broken their infrastructure has become off late. Many of their features in Netbanking and mobile banking were bonkers for several months. When they fixed one, they broke something else.

Apparently, their tech budget has been reduced vastly, causing different sorts of issues.

Regardless, stop worrying about the reward points of this shitty card — Even if they had credited you correct reward points, you weren't gonna get much value from them.

CosmicCat

It looks like for a majority of people, the rewards system is broken for the ICICI Coral RuPay CC for non-UPI transactions. My dad did one transaction on Flipkart, and another one on a POS device with his new Coral RuPay credit card. For both, there should have been 2 reward points credited per ₹100, but they instead credited one reward point per ₹100.

CosmicCat

I recently got my pre-approved ICICI Coral RuPay LTF credit card. I've done four transactions with it already, but I noticed that the reward points were credited for none of the transactions.

The bottom card in the below screenshot is the Platinum Visa one, whose reward structure is the same as that of Coral RuPay. And, as you can see, the reward point is credited for the single transaction I did with it.

Anybody else experiencing it? I'll try to raise a complaint if it continues to happen in the future.

EDIT: The rewards should be calculated as I described in this comment, however it isn't credited as such.

Screenshot_2023-12-31-01-04-07-85_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12~4.jpg
The first-ever statement of my new Coral RuPay credit card was generated today, and expectedly, it doesn't have the correct reward points credited either.

Since the value of the reward points is very low, I will not waste my time and energy fighting them. I'll stick to using my Tata Neu Infinity credit card for UPI transactions, and the ICICI Platinum one for places where the Amazon Pay CC isn't eligible for merchant discounts.

ahtsham

The first-ever statement of my new Coral RuPay credit card was generated today, and expectedly, it doesn't have the correct reward points credited either.

Since the value of the reward points is very low, I will not waste my time and energy fighting them. I'll stick to using my Tata Neu Infinity credit card for UPI transactions, and the ICICI Platinum one for places where the Amazon Pay CC isn't eligible for merchant discounts.
Yes, I am too doing the same... who will fight with them regularly for reward points.. better use alternatives.

ICICI reward points are useless anyway. Only the Amz Pay CC is good for rewards. For rest, they are only useful for availing bank offers for which Amz Pay CC is normally excluded.
For UPI-CC, Tataneu Infinity remains the best.

CosmicCat

I can't comprehend how ICICI is differentiating between their users for the same card. Because my dad's ICICI Coral RuPay CC is getting rewards at 2% rate. However, in my case, it's 0.5% instead — even for the same UPI handles!

For a ₹210 transaction, my dad's Coral RuPay CC got 4 reward points, whereas mine got just 1 reward point. Both the transactions were done on the same merchant!

Koi sense hai is baat ka?

I'm gonna throw my Coral RuPay CC into bin if ICICI doesn't fix their shit.
1000040307.jpg

I can't comprehend how ICICI is differentiating between their users for the same card. Because my dad's ICICI Coral RuPay CC is getting rewards at 2% rate. However, in my case, it's 0.5% instead — even for the same UPI handles!

Koi sense hai is baat ka?

I'm gonna throw my Coral RuPay CC into bin if ICICI doesn't fix their shit.
1000040307.jpg
Log ICICI k cards bas sales offer me 10% discount lootne k liye lete hai.

ICICI Coral RuPay CC usme kam karta hai aur sath me Lifetime free, RuPay CC offers and RuPay CC on UPI offers iska plus point hai.

Recently maine Tata Neu par 10% upto 100 cashback ICICI offer ka bill payment kiya tha, kal he mujhe Rs100 cashback mil gaya ICICI Coral RuPay CC me.

Bas aur kya chahiye jindegi me. Jo kam k liye ICICI Cards lete hai woh kam hona chahiye bas.

CosmicCat

I found another confirmation from a user on X who did the transactions worth the same amount on Amazon from both his Platinum CC as well as his Coral RuPay CC: Screenshot_2024-01-06-11-13-44-24_0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb~2.jpg
Both the cards have the same rewards structure, and as you see, he has got the right reward points for the one done with his Platinum credit card — which is 2 points per ₹100 or 2%. However, for the one done using his Coral RuPay CC, the reward rate comes out to be around 0.5%.

He posted his complaint in November, so it's been more than a month, yet the problem remains unfixed for most of us. So, it looks like ICICI Bank isn't bothered much to fix it now. Their prime focus now seems to be on issuing as many Coral RuPay cards as possible.
Guys, I have come to a theory now. Only those people who have got both Platinum as well as the Coral RuPay credit card are getting incorrect rewards for the Coral RuPay one.

See the screenshot in the quoted post above. He has got correct reward points for the Platinum one (i.e. 2% reward rate), but for the Coral RuPay one, he has got the reward points at 0.5% rate instead of 2%, which is exactly the same case for mine as well!

ahtsham

Guys, I have come to a theory now. Only those people who have got both Platinum as well as the Coral RuPay credit card are getting incorrect rewards for the Coral RuPay one.

See the screenshot in the quoted post above. He has got correct reward points for the Platinum one (i.e. 2% reward rate), but for the Coral RuPay one, he has got the reward points at 0.5% rate instead of 2%, which is exactly the same case for mine as well!
Same for me.

ahtsham

Same as in? You have both Platinum as well as the Coral RuPay card too?

By the way, can you please also share a masked screenshot of your statement here where it shows the rewards, if possible?
I have Coral Visa, Coral Rupay, and Platinum Visa. Never used Platinum Visa. For Coral Visa, reward rate is 2RP/Rs100 for me. For Coral Rupay, Reward rate is 1 RP/ 200 for me. No idea about Platinum Visa as I never used it.
For some transactions on Coral Rupay, I raised complaint and got correct rewards credited later in statement. For last 1 month transactions, I didn't raised any complaint.
Attached last month statement.

• Screenshot_20240210_145700_Drive.jpg
    Screenshot_20240210_145700_Drive.jpg
    51.8 KB · Views: 7

CosmicCat

I have Coral Visa, Coral Rupay, and Platinum Visa. Never used Platinum Visa. For Coral Visa, reward rate is 2RP/Rs100 for me. For Coral Rupay, Reward rate is 1 RP/ 200 for me. No idea about Platinum Visa as I never used it.
For some transactions on Coral Rupay, I raised complaint and got correct rewards credited later in statement. For last 1 month transactions, I didn't raised any complaint.
Attached last month statement.
Thanks for the confirmation. I'm not sure whether having both Platinum and Coral RuPay CC is causing the issue or not. Need more proof from others.

My dad has got both Coral Visa as well as Coral RuPay cards. He is getting correct reward points for both, i.e., at 2% reward rate (2 reward points per ₹100). Whereas I have got Platinum as well as Coral RuPay CCs, and I'm getting correct reward points for the Platinum one (at 2% reward rate), but incorrect reward points for the Coral RuPay one (at 0.5%reward rate instead of 2%).

ahtsham

Thanks for the confirmation. I'm not sure whether having both Platinum and Coral RuPay CC is causing the issue or not. Need more proof from others.

My dad has got both Coral Visa as well as Coral RuPay cards. He is getting correct reward points for both, i.e., at 2% reward rate (2 reward points per ₹100). Whereas I have got Platinum as well as Coral RuPay CCs, and I'm getting correct reward points for the Platinum one (at 2% reward rate), but incorrect reward points for the Coral RuPay one (at 0.5%reward rate instead of 2%).
I just contacted customer care and told them this issue with persons having Coral Rupay and Platinum Visa cards. She told me she had forwarded my issue to technical department. Will try again after few days on UPI transaction.
Is your issue with Coral Rupay card transactions or only with UPI?