What's That Underdog Credit Card for You?

Subhankar

Chief Mod
What’s that underdog card for you? For me it’s BOB Eterna

Base Reward Rate: 0.75%

Accelerated Reward Rate: 3.75% (capped at 5k pts/ month)

Ideal Spending / Month: 42,000 INR

It’ll qualify for annual milestones of 5 Lac & 50k for 20k pts &10k pts. It'll shoot the reward rate to 4.75 on annual spends of 5 Lac.

1RP= 25p as statement credit.

It has also joining fee waiver on 25k spends on first 60 days, which is amazing considering the value

IMG_2028.JPEG

bugmenot

I see many replies mention about SBI Cashback, Axis Ace, Amazon Pay and HDFC Millennia. These cards may not be underdogs because many people own them. An underdog card is less popular but has some unique or significant benefits.

ICICI bank is infamous for its pathetic cards and especially for its rewards system. But it has few cards which has some unique top spender based promotions. I came across a Twitter post by Boopathy ji. Check this Twitter thread out. He was one of the top spender and experienced the fully paid trip to Old Trafford - the home ground off Manchester United.

The card is ICICI Manchester United credit card. ICICI has few more similar lifestyle cards which runs such top spender campaigns like
  1. Chennai Super Kings Credit Card - Exclusive “Meet and Greet” session with select CSK players.
  2. Accelero ICICI Bank Credit Card - A fully sponsored 3N/4D adventure trip, including an opportunity to self-drive in premium cars at exotic locations in Rajasthan.
  3. ICICI Ferrari Platinum Credit Card (Discontinued) - An all-expense paid trip to an official Ferrari Challenge race and other events in Italy

Bibind

I see many replies mention about SBI Cashback, Axis Ace, Amazon Pay and HDFC Millennia. These cards may not be underdogs because many people own them. An underdog card is less popular but has some unique or significant benefits.

ICICI bank is infamous for its pathetic cards and especially for its rewards system. But it has few cards which has some unique top spender based promotions. I came across a Twitter post by Boopathy ji. Check this Twitter thread out. He was one of the top spender and experienced the fully paid trip to Old Trafford - the home ground off Manchester United.

The card is ICICI Manchester United credit card. ICICI has few more similar lifestyle cards which runs such top spender campaigns like
  1. Chennai Super Kings Credit Card - Exclusive “Meet and Greet” session with select CSK players.
  2. Accelero ICICI Bank Credit Card - A fully sponsored 3N/4D adventure trip, including an opportunity to self-drive in premium cars at exotic locations in Rajasthan.
  3. ICICI Ferrari Platinum Credit Card (Discontinued) - An all-expense paid trip to an official Ferrari Challenge race and other events in Italy

After seeing Boopathy's tweet abt this card I applied for this and it's on the way... Hopefully I will qualify for next year Manchester United trip...😍😍

anirban.choudhury

For me it’s Bob eterna . Wonderful card . Unlimited domestic lounge access for both primary and add-on card holders , fee waiver , accelerated rewards, statement credit, all this on just 2500 per year. It’s really a good deal.

CVR

Amex MRCC (not sure underdog but good reward for simple transactions)
4 transactions of 1500 in a month - add to paytm wallet (from other apps) and Amazon pay. Paytm wallet can be used for fuel on which no one anyways gives any points. Easily earn 1120 points for 6000 spends (more if you use gyftr).
1 point can be redeemed for 1 marriot bonvoy which can have value of 0.5-1 Rs. Or use 18K/24K collection for value of 0.4
So 1120 points can be valued for Rs. 448 to 1120.
So for Rs.6000 spends reward rate of 7.47% to 18.67% depending on ability to use points
1500 annual fees which gets negotiated easily or they agree to give you points of equivalent value on paying fees
Best part is I don’t have compromise on my Magnus spends or overthink to achieve this monthly bonus (unlike my Plat Travel where I am not sure i can reach 4 lakh milestone as most spends go in achieving Magnus milestone)
I find this better than 6 transactions of 1000 in Gold. There was time (maybe 7-8 years back) when Gold only required 4 transactions of 250 each for 1000 bonus points!!

suhasa010

For me it's HSBC Visa Platinum Card. I barely use it but when I want to go to movies, I can use the BOGO offer (250 cap).

Recently got SC Smart CC. Seems underappreciated in most forums but 2% cashback on all online spends and 1% cashback on all offline spends (except fuel) with no excessive restrictions is really great. (only there's a cap of 1000 & 500 p.m for online/offline cashback, but easily an all rounder if your online/offline spends are within 50,000 p.m).

nrb

It is AMEX MRCC for me.
LTF
1500x4 txn get 1000 rewards points
also if 20000 in a month then another 1000 reward points.
excellent value for a LTF card.

Prime Carlsen

Amazon Pay ICICI for day to day usage
On Amazon shopping - 5%
On bill payments - 2%
On other Ecommerce sites - 1%
Offline spend -1%
Annual charges - NIL
Reward point redemption - Not Required, directly credited on bill generation date in Apay Wallet
Reward point cap - NONE, Truly Unlimited
Keeping other banks Branded cards just for specific sale discounts. But most usage is from this Apay card.
Still, I hate this card sometimes, since I don't get any other pre-approved offers from ICICI due to this card.
I was not aware having APay card disqualifies from CC offers. I got all sort of pre approved loan offers but none for card at all. At least I know the reason now.

Prime Carlsen

It is AMEX MRCC for me.
LTF
1500x4 txn get 1000 rewards points
also if 20000 in a month then another 1000 reward points.
excellent value for a LTF card.
I have seen the referral offers with FYF and reduced annual fees but not came across LTF offers for this. Can you share how did you get it LTF?

Prathamladha

For me there are several underrated cards
1)rbl play card- on spend of 5000 monthly get two movie tickets of 500 and 100 discount on popcorn. So i use it for feul and enjoy two movie tickets.. 12% return on ltf card. I got ltf because i am booked 10 tickets previous year on bms
2) airtel axis- 25% off on airtel payments. 10% off on other utilities and 10% off on bigbasket. I pay for groceries through this card on tata neu app so i get total 15% cashback on groceries.
3)indusind eazydiner- used this card several times to get free drinks whenever i go out with friends plus 25% off on bill upto 1000. And above that 150 eazypoints on booking on app for each diner. Currently we can redeem 10000 eazypoints in return for 1 night stay in justu shimla

plastikman

It's Kotak Privy Signature for me. 1.25% for all grocery/shopping spends and 0.5% for everything else. But by spending 1000 per month one gets 6400 reward points every 90 days which can be directly encashed @Rs 1600. For a card costing Rs 3000, I get Rs 6400 as reward each year plus there are no reward redemption charges.

techsearch

For me there are several underrated cards
1)rbl play card- on spend of 5000 monthly get two movie tickets of 500 and 100 discount on popcorn. So i use it for feul and enjoy two movie tickets.. 12% return on ltf card. I got ltf because i am booked 10 tickets previous year on bms
2) airtel axis- 25% off on airtel payments. 10% off on other utilities and 10% off on bigbasket. I pay for groceries through this card on tata neu app so i get total 15% cashback on groceries.
3)indusind eazydiner- used this card several times to get free drinks whenever i go out with friends plus 25% off on bill upto 1000. And above that 150 eazypoints on booking on app for each diner. Currently we can redeem 10000 eazypoints in return for 1 night stay in justu shimla
wait what 15% on Bigbasket ?
Also does this card give cashback on top of other swiggy/zomato offer like instant 40 50 Rs off or 125 Rs off (match day mania) ?

WandereR

wait what 15% on Bigbasket ?
Also does this card give cashback on top of other swiggy/zomato offer like instant 40 50 Rs off or 125 Rs off (match day mania) ?
10% cashback from axis and 5% neu coins using tata neu app.
If I'm correct, those 40/50 ones are swiggy/zomato coupon codes. For this card you don't need to apply any code. They take it from the merchant name itself. So yes you get both.

shubhamosy

Who is Boopathy?