Tours and travels not willing to refund money for a trip that they cancelled: please guide

ltf4ever

my mother booked a tour package through this operator in Mumbai, confirmed date of travel 20 May. accordingly , she made a one way fligh ticket as per agreement, for return journey.

now 20 days before the trip, the tour operator cancels the trip because they could not find enough people in that group to conduct tour.

they are asking my mom to reschedule the flight ticket (15k) by herself, without the company bearing any loss. they are even not refunding the money that she paid them, saying that it will be in the form of credit shell and can be used for future bookings.

they have started hanging up over phone call, and talking things like "we both are at fault so let's bear loss together" etc.

her 50k rupees are at stake. the tickets are nonflexible since she trusted them to conduct the tours as promised.

the company is a small company and option is not available on National Consumer Forum (NCH portal allows you to only select from their dropdown).

kindly suggest how we can minimize losses, and if consumer disputes redressal forums are of any help. i am new to this thing.

thanks

saucy

Have you tried the consumer helpline? In cases where their drop-down list doesn't work - the customer care should be able to help.

halogodx

Depends on how they paid, If credit card then initiate a chargeback against the tours and travels or take them to consumer court, its very easy to file the case online yourself. For the flight ticket unfortunately your only option would be to go to consumer court or eat the cancellation loss

gurbina

Depends on how they paid, If credit card then initiate a chargeback against the tours and travels or take them to consumer court, its very easy to file the case online yourself. For the flight ticket unfortunately your only option would be to go to consumer court or eat the cancellation loss
Nothing to fight with the airline. It's not their problem, flight booking is separate from everything else.
Any action taken against them isn't fair and it isn't gonna be successful.

Just bear the cancellation cost or present your case to them and they might waive any cancellation fees.