Breaking News: Major Changes Related To LRS And TCS By Ministry Of Finance

TechnoFino

Today, on 28th June 2023, the Ministry of Finance released a notification regarding significant changes related to LRS (Liberalized Remittance Scheme) and TCS (Tax Collected at Source).

Earlier, the MOF stated that a new TCS rate of 20% would be applicable to all LRS payments (except education and medical) from 1st July 2023. Additionally, credit card spends were to be included under LRS. However, they later announced that credit cards and debit cards would enjoy a 7 lakh exemption from LRS.
Full details of the previously proposed guidelines: https://www.technofino.in/community...-transactions-done-using-a-credit-card.12514/

Now, the FinMin has made some major changes, which are as follows:
  1. There will be no change in the rate of TCS for all purposes under LRS and for overseas travel tour packages, regardless of mode of payment, for amounts up to Rs. 7 lakh per individual per annum. The 20% rate will only apply for expenditure above 7 lakh.
  2. The increased TCS rates will now apply from 1st October 2023 instead of 1st July 2023. That means old TCS rate of 5% will be applicable till 30th September, 2023.
  3. The implementation of the government's 16th May 2023 e-gazette notification has been postponed. This means that international transactions conducted using credit cards will not fall under LRS, and therefore, no TCS will be applicable.
  4. Debit cards, forex cards, and all other payment methods for international transactions will enjoy a zero TCS on the first 7 lakh spends or remittance.
Here is a chart from the Ministry of Finance illustrating the old and new TCS rates:

TCS rate chart.png

Isn’t there a difference between cc spends in foreign currency while in India, vs when abroad? The former still appears to count towards the 7 lac limit just like for options in pt 4.

ALOAK

Just received msg from sbicards regarding TCS .
Dear Cardholder,

This is to inform you that basis the press release dated 28 Jun 2023 issued by the Ministry of Finance, Tax Collected at Source (TCS) will not be applicable on spends made in foreign currency through credit cards for now. Consequently, TCS will not be charged on spends made in foreign currency with your SBI Credit Card.

We request you to ignore our communication dated 26 Jun 2023 with the subject 'Important: TCS on foreign currency spends'. This communication was based on the Ministry of Finance's previous notification regarding Liberalised Remittance Scheme (LRS) and TCS.

Assuring you the best of services.

Warm Regards,
SBI Card

Does this TCS amount reflect in 26AS form on Income tax portal?
We all have to wait and see how this mess up will be implemented... So answer to your question" Don't know yet", and will be known in the coming months/ year(s)

pranavcool

After 1 oct if i do a transaction using cc will i be charged in advanced and need to claim in income tax? I am getting confused

Harry1

Today got a mail from my employer saying 20% tcs will be applicable for ESPP too. This has gone too far now. What's point? 30% TDS and then 20% TCS. 1 year interest free loan to government 😡.

dvader

Incompetence makes you take such steps. This isn't gonna change shit. Common citizens are gonna get affected that's all. They are trying hard to make Tax evasion morally correct.