50 Lakh Cover for Rs 7,123/-. Too good to be true ?

a_tease

So, I wanted to take a health insurance and decided to check policies and premiums. The huge difference is making my mind go nuts. what am I missing?

Policy 1: ICICI Lombard Health Shield 360, 50 Lakh health cover for 1 Adult is 7,123 rupees.
https://1drv.ms/b/s!Aj-KtmxrLYJ1jRc6CiDpMnqF52fH?e=0X7cxT

Policy 2: HDFC Ergo Optima Secure, 50 Lakh cover for 1 adult is 69044 rupees.
https://1drv.ms/b/s!Aj-KtmxrLYJ1jRgMULZF5jwu2WPT?e=3ZmYmo

The difference in premium is too much. Anyone else came across the same ?

What is age of Adult, any existing diseases? Also whats Pre op and post op in both? Any room rent capping in either?
Are you sure both are for 1 year respectively?

Sample quotes for HDFC Ergo Optima restore -
1 adult - age 25 - 10 lac premium - 10-15k premium
2 adults(parents) - both age(60+) - 10 lac premium - 50-75k premium

Premium varies case by case and serviceable location and also the plan and riders selected. Do get an actual quote from Ditto/Policybazaar or maybe directly from Insurance company itself.

jack333

So, I wanted to take a health insurance and decided to check policies and premiums. The huge difference is making my mind go nuts. what am I missing?

Policy 1: ICICI Lombard Health Shield 360, 50 Lakh health cover for 1 Adult is 7,123 rupees.
https://1drv.ms/b/s!Aj-KtmxrLYJ1jRc6CiDpMnqF52fH?e=0X7cxT

Policy 2: HDFC Ergo Optima Secure, 50 Lakh cover for 1 adult is 69044 rupees.
https://1drv.ms/b/s!Aj-KtmxrLYJ1jRgMULZF5jwu2WPT?e=3ZmYmo

The difference in premium is too much. Anyone else came across the same ?
It's only available for icici customers through branch only. I recently got this policy

a_tease

What is age of Adult, any existing diseases? Also whats Pre op and post op in both? Any room rent capping in either?
What is age of Adult?
Adult would be anyone between 21-60 years.

any existing diseases?
None

Also, what's Pre op and post op in both?
60 and 90 days in ICICI respectively
60 and 180 days in HDFC respectively

Any room rent capping in either?
None

Yes

a_tease

It's only available for icici customers through branch only. I recently got this policy
I'm a Novice in insurances, I recently just started looking into it.

Is there any catch? Coz if I compare from any other policy the premium difference is huge.

jack333

Its a group policy bro. Earlier was only for icici employees. Now have been extended to icici customers also. Same group policy. That's why low rate. Service same as icici lombard

a_tease

Its a group policy bro. Earlier was only for icici employees. Now have been extended to icici customers also. Same group policy. That's why low rate. Service same as icici lombard
when you say, "Service same as ICICI Lombard", do you mean poor, or do you mean good?

I apologize for asking too many questions 😅

punrziq

What do you mean by group. Single person can't apply for this?

jack333

when you say, "Service same as ICICI Lombard", do you mean poor, or do you mean good?

I apologize for asking too many questions 😅
People were saying not very good in another thread. Don't have any personal experience. Still went ahead as rate difference was huge from my current care Health insurance policy