• Hey there! Welcome to TFC! View fewer ads on the website just by signing up on TF Community.

Why do some ITC hotels not show Green points required for making reservations?

R!ppEr

TF Ace
VIP Lounge
Hey Guys,

i'm new to the hotel loyalty program game and was going through the ITC app for some R&D on the green point value/requirements for hotel bookings. What i noticed is that some hotels do not show the points needed to book the stay while some do. Like Fortune resort Benaulim will only show rupees while ITC grand goa shows the green points. Why is this so? Am i missing something?

PS - I have an ITC membership, but currently do not have transferred any points to it.

Thanks!

prabhuk

TF Buzz
@oshan does the pricing get fixed with this option ie: on booking date it’s RS 15000 can I redeem it at 1 Re = 1 Green point at the hotel at a later date?

gurbina

TF Premier
VIP Lounge
you can use pay at hotel option at booking and pay using green points at hotel
Are you sure about this?

For nearly every hotel loyalty program (and the same as airline frequent flyer programs) they have limited availability for awards.

There can 300 rooms or seats, but doesn't mean you can get it, they allot a specific number of rooms/seats for awards. So if they allot 10 and even if there's 290 more available rooms/seats available you can't get one if there's no allocated rooms/seats for awards.

I just took a quick look at their FAQ and it mentions the same and that is must be booked online.

A limited number of rooms may be allocated for Club ITC Reward Nights, and availability may vary by Hotel and Resort.

And usually they can't do or manage these things at the front desk of the hotel, they might need to get the on-duty manager and he might need to pull a stunt to make it happen. They can do many things including upgrading your room, giving you hotel credit/points for issues or out of courtesy but making award availability when there's none might be out of reach for them.