• Hey there! Welcome to TFC! View fewer ads on the website just by signing up on TF Community.

Query on Advance tax

card_wizard

TF Premier
Guys I am a IT professional and I need to pay advance tax for my capital gains. From what I understood we need to pay the advance tax in 4 instalment throughout the year. Now my question is what if my total advance tax is 10,000 and I paid in september. Will there be any problem? or is it mandatory to pay in 4 installments

arun4455

TF Premier
VIP Lounge
Payment in advance would not be an issue. Only delayed payment would attract interest.

Just for information, tax on capital gain is required to be paid in the same quarter by due date in which capital gain is realised.

card_wizard

TF Premier
Payment in advance would not be an issue. Only delayed payment would attract interest.

Just for information, tax on capital gain is required to be paid in the same quarter by due date in which capital gain is realised.
Ok so for example suppose I get total 10,000RS as short term capital gain during first quarter then I need to pay (10000*15%) before 15th June. But then why is it so confusing that 15% should be paid before 15th June and 45% should be paid before 15th September

arun4455

TF Premier
VIP Lounge
Ok so for example suppose I get total 10,000RS as short term capital gain during first quarter then I need to pay (10000*15%) before 15th June. But then why is it so confusing that 15% should be paid before 15th June and 45% should be paid before 15th September
If you have a capital gain of Rs. 10000 before 15th June, then you have to pay 100% before 15th June only. The percentage slab works only for regular income, not for capital gain.

Copycat

TF Ace
VIP Lounge
If you have a capital gain of Rs. 10000 before 15th June, then you have to pay 100% before 15th June only. The percentage slab works only for regular income, not for capital gain.

Can you cite the IT rules or an article that backs up what you say, please?