• Hey there! Welcome to TFC! View fewer ads on the website just by signing up on TF Community.

I earned an STCG of around ₹12 this Financial Year. Should I continue filing ITR-4 to avail 44ADA or file ITR-3 to report this STCG?

CosmicCat

TF Premier
I earned around ₹12 Short-Term Capital Gains (STCG) this financial year (FY 2023-24) by closing several debt mutual funds, which I had opened this financial year only just for exploration, as I got started with Mutual Funds recently. Their total purchase amount was around ₹5,000 only.

I have attached a picture here of how it is reported in my AIS.

I have been filing ITR-4 all these years as I'm a Self-Employed Professional (Software Engineer) and availed 44ADA each time.

AFAIK, ITR-4 doesn't have any provision to mention capital gains, because I have been filing my taxes myself all these years, and never noticed the option to mention capital gains.

So, should I file ITR-3 by mentioning this ~₹12 STCG? Or continue filing ITR-4 (To avail 44ADA) and exclude this STCG?

As I don't have any CA to seek guidance from nearby me, so can please anybody help me out with this query? I would really appreciate your help.

Attachments

• Screenshot_2023-12-06-20-28-54-23_e2d5b3f32b79de1d45acd1fad96fbb0f.jpg
    Screenshot_2023-12-06-20-28-54-23_e2d5b3f32b79de1d45acd1fad96fbb0f.jpg
    277 KB · Views: 40
Last edited:

iBabubhau

TF Buzz
Put the Rs. 12 under income from other sources and file under ITR 4. But would recommend to consult a professional CA for help

CosmicCat

TF Premier
lol, someone automate this shit ASAP.
If only there was a common ITR form, this would have been a lot easier. Also, finding a good CA—or even a CA nearby, for that matter—is as difficult as finding a needle in a haystack.

Reactions: SSV

CosmicCat

TF Premier