Action against Paytm payment bank - No customer onboarding, credit transaction

The Reserve Bank of India, in exercise of its powers under section 35A of the Banking Regulation Act, 1949, had directed Paytm Payments Bank Ltd (PPBL or the bank) to stop onboarding of new customers with immediate effect.

The Comprehensive System Audit report and subsequent compliance validation report of the external auditors revealed persistent non compliances and continued material supervisory concerns in the bank, warranting further supervisory action.

Accordingly, in exercise of its powers under section 35A of Banking Regulation Act, 1949 and all other powers enabling it in that behalf, the Reserve Bank of India, has today directed PPBL as below:

1. No further deposits or credit transactions or top ups shall be allowed in any customer accounts, prepaid instruments, wallets, FASTags, NCMC cards, etc. after February 29, 2024, other than any interest, cashbacks, or refunds which may be credited anytime.

2. Withdrawal or utilisation of balances by its customers from their accounts including savings bank accounts, current accounts, prepaid instruments, FASTags, National Common Mobility Cards, etc. are to be permitted without any restrictions, upto their available balance.

3. No other banking services, other than those referred in (ii) above, like fund transfers (irrespective of name and nature of services like AEPS, IMPS, etc.), BBPOU and UPI facility should be provided by the bank after February 29, 2024.

4. The Nodal Accounts of One97 Communications Ltd and Paytm Payments Services Ltd. are to be terminated at the earliest, in any case not later than February 29, 2024.

5. Settlement of all pipeline transactions and nodal accounts (in respect of all transactions initiated on or before February 29, 2024) shall be completed by March 15, 2024 and no further transactions shall be permitted thereafter.

This is huge, in other words, all banking services available on Paytm, such as bill payment, UPI, wallet, etc., will not be available after February 29, 2024. If you have Paytm FASTag balance, wallet balance, fuel wallet balance or Paytm Payment Bank balance, you can transfer or use them even after February 29, 2024, but fresh credit or wallet/FASTag recharge will not be permitted.
Paytm is in real trouble now. Let's see how Paytm responds to this problem and how they overcome it.
Update (1st Feb, 2024):

Paytm, in its mandatory disclosure under Regulation 30 of SEBI on February 1, 2024, mentioned that One 97 Communications Limited (OCL), a payment company working with various banks, including Paytm Payments Bank Limited (“PPBL”), will now exclusively collaborate with other banks. In the next phase of OCL’s journey, it aims to expand its payments and financial services business through partnerships with different banks.

The Paytm Payment Gateway business for online merchants will continue providing payment solutions to existing merchants. OCL’s offline merchant payment network offerings, such as Paytm QR, Paytm Soundbox, and Paytm Card Machine, will also continue as usual, allowing onboarding of new offline merchants.

Regarding the termination of the nodal account of OCL and Paytm Payments Services Limited (PPSL) by February 29, 2024, both entities will transition the nodal account to other banks during this period. OCL plans to establish partnerships with various other banks to offer diverse payment products to its customers.

OCL’s additional financial services, including loan distribution, insurance distribution, and equity broking, are not directly associated with Paytm Payments Bank Limited and are expected to remain unaffected by this direction.

It appears that Paytm will continue to offer UPI and bill payment services through collaborations with other banks. They already started selling fastag from HDFC Bank. Further developments are anticipated, and we await more clarity on the situation in the coming days.
Official document link (attached): https://www.bseindia.com/xml-data/corpfiling/AttachLive/02a4a3a1-8cc0-4cde-a35f-d4f70ca98377.pdf

Update (2nd Feb, 2024):
According to some media reports, this could mark the end of the giant. In an exclusive interview with CNBC-TV18, former Executive Director of RBI, Deepali Pant Joshi, shared her perspective on the matter, referring to it as a "disaster that had been in the making since October 2023." Joshi highlighted Paytm's nonchalant attitude towards the reasons behind the ₹5.39 crore fine imposed in October 2023.
For the full interview, you can visit: CNBCTV18 Interview

It appears that Paytm was too casual about its KYC norms. On Twitter, particularly among some fintech founders, there is support for Paytm, with claims that RBI is anti-fintech and unjustly treating Paytm. But the real picture is bit different.

GFV8saOWIAA5Iyp.jpeg

• PR1774PPBLBEDADC47266E41F7A65307C63180E2B1.pdf
    264.9 KB · Views: 63
  • 02a4a3a1-8cc0-4cde-a35f-d4f70ca98377.pdf
    667.9 KB · Views: 5

skywalker

Since we won’t be able to add money to Paytm FASTag anymore, which FASTag should we buy? Which is the best and most convenient alternative to Paytm FASTag? Based on cashbacks, offers, ease of recharge and so on?

Since we won’t be able to add money to Paytm FASTag anymore, which FASTag should we buy? Which is the best and most convenient alternative to Paytm FASTag? Based on cashbacks, offers, ease of recharge and so on

once they tie up with some other othe banks at the back end , Paytm Fasttag will work, may be offers will be less..
This is my view..

skywalker

once they tie up with some other othe banks at the back end , Paytm Fasttag will work, may be offers will be less..
This is my view..
Yeah but we can’t wait for that to happen. Top ups in Paytm FASTag will be stopped after 15th March, which would cause inconvenience to users till Paytm comes up with a solution, which might take time. We need to get another FASTag in my opinion.

Park+ FASTag seemed like a good option, but I read so many recent negative reviews on the Park+ iOS app about their service and FASTag usage.

Yeah but we can’t wait for that to happen. Top ups in Paytm FASTag will be stopped after 15th March, which would cause inconvenience to users till Paytm comes up with a solution, which might take time. We need to get another FASTag in my opinion.
so you can top up to maximum and continue to use.. even after Mar 15..
I think the tie up will be sooner than you expected.. like by end of Feb or even earlier...

skywalker

I think the tie up will be sooner than you expected.. like by end of Feb or even earlier...
Adding money to Paytm seems like a risk now. You never know, they might face some issues or restrictions later on and your money might get blocked with them

skywalker

Also, still having a backup option never hurts. We should at least know which FASTag to choose as an alternative to Paytm if push comes to shove. I think @Abhishek012 suggested one option somewhere. Or does anyone know any other better options?

Adding money to Paytm seems like a risk now. You never know, they might face some issues or restrictions later on and your money might get blocked with them
Also, still having a backup option never hurts. We should at least know which FASTag to choose as an alternative to Paytm if push comes to shove. I think @Abhishek012 suggested one option somewhere. Or does anyone know any other better options?

It never hurts to find an alternative.. that is for sure..
I just want to say, not be panic or worried about money in the Paytm wallet or Fastag etc..

But believe me almost everything will be back to normal with regard to Paytm from customer POV very soon, only offers won't be that much..

FYI from RBI FAQ..
you can continue to use Paytm Fastag even after 15 March upto the available balance..

1708113223084.png

deep@vie

It never hurts to find an alternative.. that is for sure..
I just want to say, not be panic or worried about money in the Paytm wallet or Fastag etc..

But believe me almost everything will be back to normal with regard to Paytm from customer POV very soon, only offers won't be that much..

FYI from RBI FAQ..
you can continue to use Paytm Fastag even after 15 March upto the available balance..

1708113223084.png
Yes,I'm continuing with paytm fastag only for two of my vehicles. Will see what future is holding. Fastag recharge/loading will be there before restriction for sure.

#aniket

My wild guess, HDFC will join hands with paytm as nodal bank.
Paytm is selling hdfc fastags now.
Meanwhile Axis be like:
Entrance Im Here GIF by Leroy Patterson

Iam₹K$

Yes,I'm continuing with paytm fastag only for two of my vehicles. Will see what future is holding. Fastag recharge/loading will be there before restriction for sure.
NHAI issued list of 32 banks for fastag that will function post 29 Feb 2024, Paytm is not in the list.

Yes, Paytm payments Bank issued fastags will be gone.
But they may introduce paytm fastag in collaboration with some banking partner..
is my guess. In a week or two everything will be known

I know how u r feeling bro..
I know you are a share holder of Paytm 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.
I haven’t invested in any Indian market shares yet , but will be in the next financial year.
And I will never be a long term investor..
only swing trading and momentum trading.
Long term investment is dead in my view.
And I won’t do intra day and derivatives also..
I have no attachment to any company or shares…

prash1161

Chinese money is long gone. American hathway sold last year. Japanese, Softbank, knew about this audit report and sold away their all stakes this month.

Something is not good.
If u don't know
If there's Chinese money there is their involvement to. It may be in tech .
So the data is being shared to them and also being used for Chinese company to save tax.
Banning an such a big company is never a easy decision. But it's not only a big company it is a listed company and it will also affect retailers its very complicated .

So kindly don't run behind pennies because they are benefiting from your data.

prash1161

I haven’t invested in any Indian market shares yet , but will be next financial year.
And I will never be a long term investor..
only swing trading and momentum trading.
Long term investment is dead in my view.
And I won’t do intra day and derivatives also..
I have no attachment to any company or shares…
Abhi kisme krte? Forex or crypto?