Opinion | Govt should reduce GST on MDR for RuPay/UPI & increase it for luxury Visa/Master/Amex cards transaction

Do you think Govt should reduce GST on MDR for RuPay/UPI & increase it for luxury Visa/Master/Amex c

• Yes, govt should impose 40% GST on MDR/EMI for luxury product Visa, Master & Amex card transactions

• Yes, govt should reduce 18% to 5% GST on MDR/EMI for RuPay/UPI transactions

Results are only viewable after voting.
Okay, so this is now about nationalism and national security?

Let me break this to you, all of this boycott movement is for the masses. Remember, India-China conflict?
People broke TVs, they intentionally started buying expensive & below par local products just for the sake of nationalism, and founders like Rahul Sharma latched onto it as if they're true nationalists. Reality is that the common people (which includes most of us, irrespective of the socio-economic status) had to suffer.

I'm not saying we should not promote our own products. But if we're promoting a sub-standard product over a better one (which might be foreign), then this is not nationalism buddy.
Isn’t TV and a card network company two completely different things?

Using another country’s card network is like using the US dollar instead of Indian rupees.

TVs and other products are completely different things.

Look at China and the USA—they allow almost everything else from other countries for their local people, but other countries card networks - never.

In India, This is a “Laxman Rekha” that should not be crossed. India has already crossed that Laxman Rekha. So, no matter what, this mistake will have to be corrected.

The USA and China may have made many mistakes too, but by never allowing other countries’ card networks locally, they have never crossed that “Laxman Rekha.”

You’re forgetting what I’ve always said. Customers are fools—they hardly know what they want; companies are the ones who tell them.

Twenty years ago, Apple was just like other companies. It was made into a luxury product.

Visa/MC/Amex can easily make themselves the same way, so that Indian people get an orgasm just from their logo, crave it for the logo. Of course, Visa/MC/Amex will sometimes give promotional offers for that too.

After 40% GST is imposed on MDR, Visa/MC/Amex will also change their business model—so that Indians drool just by looking at their logo, so that Indians go crazy seeing their logo, running to lick it. Barking like dogs—bow bow bowwwwwwwwwww!—whenever they see a Visa/MC/Amex logo.

It may sound like a joke, but for this, Visa/MC/Amex would need to hire a strong marketing team. Still, it’s not impossible.
Your statements lack facts and it sounds more like you have a beef with banks for not offering you Visa or MasterCard network cards.

Apple was never like "just another company". The business model was never "we make products for the masses". Apple never had a "mid range" product. You see a slight shift today, but back then it was always designed to be a luxury product.

> It may sound like a joke, but for this, Visa/MC/Amex would need to hire a strong marketing team. Still, it’s not impossible.

Visa and Mastercard don't need marketing. They are already established products, well tested and trusted by customers. No one takes a Visa card thinking this is a luxury product. It is RuPay that needs marketing, especially when there is a lot of confusion around MDR.

Your statements lack facts and it sounds more like you have a beef with banks for not offering you Visa or MasterCard network cards.

Apple was never like "just another company". The business model was never "we make products for the masses". Apple never had a "mid range" product. You see a slight shift today, but back then it was always designed to be a luxury product.

> It may sound like a joke, but for this, Visa/MC/Amex would need to hire a strong marketing team. Still, it’s not impossible.

Visa and Mastercard don't need marketing. They are already established products, well tested and trusted by customers. No one takes a Visa card thinking this is a luxury product. It is RuPay that needs marketing, especially when there is a lot of confusion around MDR.
Ok fine, not on Visa/Mastercard Debit Cards. Only Visa/Mastercard Credit Cards can have 40% GST on MDR.

Nothing big will happen — Visa/Mastercard credit card market share will only drop by 10–20%, that’s it.

Visa/Mastercard credit card users are rich. Visa/Mastercard earns a lot of income from them. Rich people won’t have any issue paying 40% GST on Visa/Mastercard credit card transactions.

40% GST on MDR just sounds high, but in reality it’s not that much if you look at it from the rich people’s point of view.

You’re forgetting what I’ve always said. Customers are fools—they hardly know what they want; companies are the ones who tell them.

Twenty years ago, Apple was just like other companies. It was made into a luxury product.

Visa/MC/Amex can easily make themselves the same way, so that Indian people get an orgasm just from their logo, crave it for the logo. Of course, Visa/MC/Amex will sometimes give promotional offers for that too.

After 40% GST is imposed on MDR, Visa/MC/Amex will also change their business model—so that Indians drool just by looking at their logo, so that Indians go crazy seeing their logo, running to lick it. Barking like dogs—bow bow bowwwwwwwwwww!—whenever they see a Visa/MC/Amex logo.

It may sound like a joke, but for this, Visa/MC/Amex would need to hire a strong marketing team. Still, it’s not impossible.
Are you actually seriously believing this or is this a troll post ? Cause your arguments are borderline trolling.

Mai infinia walo se poochna chahta hoon INFINIA dekh ke orgasam aata hai ya visa sig/master world ka logo dekh ke orgasm aata hai ?
Some people get an orgasm from Visa and some from Mastercard.

Many people don’t understand this. Between 2012 and 2014, when Indians were asked whether RuPay cards were needed in India when Visa/Mastercard already existed, 99% of people said ‘No.’ Everyone had the same line: if Visa/Mastercard already exist, then we don’t need RuPay.

Even just 3–5 years ago, 90% of people still didn’t want RuPay cards, because their logic was the same — if Visa/Mastercard already exist, then why do we need RuPay? For them, it’s a simple logic, no need to think too much about it.

In the last 3 years, that percentage has reduced a lot, but it hasn’t disappeared. Around 50% of Indians will always remain who will happily pay 40% GST on MDR for Visa/Master/Amex.

Opinion | Govt should reduce GST on MDR for RuPay/UPI & increase it for luxury Visa/Master/Amex cards transaction:

Hey guys, what do you think about this?

The Government should reduce GST on MDR from 18% to 5% for RuPay Credit Card, RuPay CC EMI, Credit UPI and UPI EMI transactions — and increase GST on MDR from 18% to 40% for Visa, MasterCard, and Amex Card transactions under the “luxury product” category.

Look, we all know Visa, MasterCard, and Amex cards are luxury products. They’re a matter of pride for Indians and the Government should impose 40% GST on MDR for their transactions.

Not just transactions — even for EMI transactions made using Visa, MasterCard, or Amex cards, as well as the 1–2% processing fees charged by banks for EMI conversion, GST should be raised from 18% to 40%.

On the other hand, for RuPay Credit Card and Credit on UPI transactions, GST on MDR should be reduced from 18% to 5%. Similarly, on EMI interest for RuPay Credit Card and Credit on UPI transactions, GST should be reduce at 5%. For EMI conversions where banks charge 1–2% processing fees, GST should also be reduced from 18% to 5%.

This is just my personal opinion — I don’t think anyone will have a problem with it.

People will still happily use Visa, MasterCard, and Amex cards because they are considered a matter of pride and most importantly, Visa, MasterCard, and Amex Card are luxury products.

No matter who it is —
  • Technofino’s Mr. Sumanta Mandal
  • Proud Visa/MasterCard/Amex users like DD's Mr. Jimish Jobanputra and Mr. Mehul Jobanputra, CI’s Mr. Ankur Mittal, CE’s Mr. Siddharth, CM’s (sorry, forgot the name), @AmazingCreditC’s Founder,
Or other credit card influencers such as Mr. Kashif Ansari, Mr. Yash Sartanpara, Mr. Akash, Mr. Vineeth K, CA Roshan Agarwal, Mr. Gajender Yadav, Mr. Satish Agarwal, Mr. Ravi Sutanjani, Professor Cardz, Mr. Tarush Jain, Mr. Subhankar, Mr. Bhavye Goel, Mr. ANNA DM, Mr. Siddharth Bhimani, SpendWisely, Nebula_world, Bekifaayati girl, CardAcademy girl etc. (sorry, there are many more whose names I can’t recall right now).

All of them and other proud Visa, MasterCard, and Amex card users, will willingly accept even 40% GST — just like people do for iPhones.

But for us ordinary RuPay users (like me or the rest of you are all ordinary RuPay users), if GST on MDR is cut to 5%, then merchants will offer more discounts and EMI will also become more beneficial. We can also save a good amount of money on GST charged on EMI interest and EMI conversion for RuPay and UPI transaction.
Pehle RuPay cards ka MDR kam karaoge sare CC to Bank transfer/Rent/Utlity apps ne RuPay cards pe extra charge laga rakha (like Snapay, Gimbooks etc) jabki VISA pe sabse kam hai, ecom Merchants to RuPay CC and Prepaid Card par extra MDR bear kar lega but ye apps nahi karna chahte.

Nahi, logo ka ek mindset banna chahiye ki Visa sirf rotate money k liye hote hai and RuPay/UPI genuine shopping transaction karne k liye.

Taki long term me banks ko samjhme aaye ki Visa dene se customers bas misuse karega, RuPay/UPI dene se customer genuine transaction karega.

Nahi, logo ka ek mindset banna chahiye ki Visa sirf rotate money k liye hote hai and RuPay/UPI genuine shopping transaction karne k liye.

Taki long term me banks ko samjhme aaye ki Visa dene se customers bas misuse karega, RuPay/UPI dene se customer genuine transaction karega.
2 din pehle VI RuPay cc to cc bill trick tum hi viral kar rahe the na?

Misuse word tumhe suit nahi karta.

RuPay CC jabse UPI jabse aaya hai tabse kitna misuse ho raha hai and hota hi rahega to ye genuine use RuPay CC ke liye ho hi sakta jab tak isme UPI hai and MDR nahi kam hoga to koi baat nahi log VISA use karenge and VISA paise kamata rahega. RuPay jyada MDR loot ke ameer ban jaye and VISA kam MDR deke bhi jyada transaction hone ki wajah se use koi loss nahi hoga.

BTW Highest MDR me Amex ko takkar dene wala RuPay prepaid card kab tak chalega?

Opinion | Govt should reduce GST on MDR for RuPay/UPI & increase it for luxury Visa/Master/Amex cards transaction:

Hey guys, what do you think about this?

The Government should reduce GST on MDR from 18% to 5% for RuPay Credit Card, RuPay CC EMI, Credit UPI and UPI EMI transactions — and increase GST on MDR from 18% to 40% for Visa, MasterCard, and Amex Card transactions under the “luxury product” category.

Look, we all know Visa, MasterCard, and Amex cards are luxury products. They’re a matter of pride for Indians and the Government should impose 40% GST on MDR for their transactions.

Not just transactions — even for EMI transactions made using Visa, MasterCard, or Amex cards, as well as the 1–2% processing fees charged by banks for EMI conversion, GST should be raised from 18% to 40%.

On the other hand, for RuPay Credit Card and Credit on UPI transactions, GST on MDR should be reduced from 18% to 5%. Similarly, on EMI interest for RuPay Credit Card and Credit on UPI transactions, GST should be reduce at 5%. For EMI conversions where banks charge 1–2% processing fees, GST should also be reduced from 18% to 5%.

This is just my personal opinion — I don’t think anyone will have a problem with it.

People will still happily use Visa, MasterCard, and Amex cards because they are considered a matter of pride and most importantly, Visa, MasterCard, and Amex Card are luxury products.

No matter who it is —
  • Technofino’s Mr. Sumanta Mandal
  • Proud Visa/MasterCard/Amex users like DD's Mr. Jimish Jobanputra and Mr. Mehul Jobanputra, CI’s Mr. Ankur Mittal, CE’s Mr. Siddharth, CM’s (sorry, forgot the name), @AmazingCreditC’s Founder,
Or other credit card influencers such as Mr. Kashif Ansari, Mr. Yash Sartanpara, Mr. Akash, Mr. Vineeth K, CA Roshan Agarwal, Mr. Gajender Yadav, Mr. Satish Agarwal, Mr. Ravi Sutanjani, Professor Cardz, Mr. Tarush Jain, Mr. Subhankar, Mr. Bhavye Goel, Mr. ANNA DM, Mr. Siddharth Bhimani, SpendWisely, Nebula_world, Bekifaayati girl, CardAcademy girl etc. (sorry, there are many more whose names I can’t recall right now).

All of them and other proud Visa, MasterCard, and Amex card users, will willingly accept even 40% GST — just like people do for iPhones.

But for us ordinary RuPay users (like me or the rest of you are all ordinary RuPay users), if GST on MDR is cut to 5%, then merchants will offer more discounts and EMI will also become more beneficial. We can also save a good amount of money on GST charged on EMI interest and EMI conversion for RuPay and UPI transaction.
I don’t agree with this. GST should ideally remain uniform across all card networks. Visa/Mastercard/Amex are not really “luxury products” they are used by a wide range of customers, including middle-class families. Instead of raising GST on them, the Government can promote RuPay and UPI by giving incentives, cashback, or merchant subsidies. That way, adoption of domestic networks will increase without penalizing others. Jaihind.

I think it will be unfair practice to tax one as luxury when it's not even actual luxury (then you can say tax higher fee cards like fee more than 5k annual or more than 7.5k annual fee)
Previously when pm modi introduced/mandated rupay should be default for BSBDA just to promote digital India via homegrown technology
These same gaints made a case against India for unfair trade practice (i don't know the verdict but I still remember it made headlines)
They've disabled it for one reason - MDR, even though if I am not wrong MDR is only chargeable on turnover over 20L.
Brother you are wrong here
Many merchant even ₹100 is being charged MDR and for some merchant it's 2k per day(via UPI rupay credit).
The conflict/confusion is why people remove the UPI credit entirely

Abhishek012: Taai, make Visa/Amex MDR GST 40%.
Taai: That’s cruel.
Abhishek012: Not cruel, Taai… it’s cardio for the rich.
Taai: How
Abhishek012: Their heart rate will beep louder than the swipe machine.

Ok fine, not on Visa/Mastercard Debit Cards. Only Visa/Mastercard Credit Cards can have 40% GST on MDR.

Nothing big will happen — Visa/Mastercard credit card market share will only drop by 10–20%, that’s it.

Visa/Mastercard credit card users are rich. Visa/Mastercard earns a lot of income from them. Rich people won’t have any issue paying 40% GST on Visa/Mastercard credit card transactions.

40% GST on MDR just sounds high, but in reality it’s not that much if you look at it from the rich people’s point of view.
Visa/Mastercard credit users are rich - This is completely false. Maybe you can say people who can afford premium cards are "rich", but again most of the people who own the premium cards aren't millionaires who have tens of BMW or Mercedes parked in their villas. Even if they were, it is unfair to charge anyone a higher GST. People already pay a "premium" as income tax, not to forget the additional surcharge and cess.

Yeah, if we start getting extra benefits (insurance, waiver on travel etc.) for paying higher tax with surcharge, at-least I'd be happy. But I guess that would hurt you even more, wouldn't it?

CC on RuPay is a failure, there is no doubt about it. The kind of adoption that it should have received (especially with even the smallest of vendors having a UPI QR) should be huge, however in reality even the smallest of vendors have blocked payments via CC. If you cannot properly design & market a product, then don't start this hooliganism about "we should use our own card network, lets just ban or put more GST on Visa/MC". First build the product, market it properly, work with both domestic & international banking partners to issue their best CCs and DCs on RuPay and ensure that your reach is even to the smallest of towns and villages. After all, that was the point of UPI right. Don't try to cut someone's line to step ahead, rather make your line longer than others.

Anyway, I doubt you'd get any of this through your thick skull so I'd let it be.