Millennia Convert Your HDFC Millennia Credit Card to Rupay Network by just a phone call

Hi Friends,

Inspired by @prateekm03 and his post here https://www.technofino.in/community/profile-posts/10003/ today, I have called HDFC customer care (📞 1800 1600) and successfully raised a request for conversion of my Mastercard Millennia Credit Card to Rupay Millennia Credit Card. No questions will be asked. Take max. 5 minutes.

This is what I was informed by the phone banking executive.
1. All features and benefits will remain same.
2. LTF cards will remain LTF.
3. Request will be processed in maximum 10 days.
4. Rewards points/ cashback (accrued and upcoming) will be transferred to the new card.
5. Running balance Statement will also be transferred.
6. Card will be delivered to my address and the old card will be deactivated.

Things that I did not asked, but expecting...
1. It will work on UPI and give benefits of 5% at preferred merchants and 1% in other eligible cases. Will update later.

Why I did this?
1. India first. Reducing the fund outflow from India, particularly to arrogant US.
2. Rupay hai toh jindegi hai.
3. Easy to use UPI cards using scan and pay features. Plus 1% upto 1000 cashback monthly.
4. My TNI card only giving 0.5% outside the TNI app. So a better choice.
5. Automatically extended the validity of the card.
6. Some secret hacks. Won't disclose even in DM.
7. I have never got any limit upgrade from HDFC so hoping this change will bring something new for me.
8. Additionally, this card has milestone benefits 1k for quarterly 1L spends. So, yes 2.0% UPI achievable.

Updates:
1. Received the confirmation about raising the request immediately.
2. Card generated on next working day (11-Aug-2025) evening around 7:30 pm.
Balance transferred.
3. Add on applied on 12-Aug, generated same day.
4. Primary card received on 14-Aug. Added to upi app.

@TheTrickySid @kuchbhi @Karan. @drvirag @Vasuki @TechnoFino @Abhishek012 @anisharya16 @n69b @pinki @Strange @6ix9ine @desiviru @cardio_guy @hender @HumorSimpson @Donald J. Trump

A related thread: https://www.technofino.in/community...a-cliq-uber-zomato-bookmyshow-cult-fit.42898/

If I convert my existing Millennia card into Rupay, Will the credit card age in CIBIL remain the same?
Yes, because your card account number is unique. Only your physical digits will get changed.

Asking because Millennia is my oldest card and ltf
Don't worry about cibil, that will just make a "U" shape recovery in couple of months.

Anything over 750 is fine, don't get too stressed over it.

That card will get closed as credit numbers are totally different due to network change.

Don't worry about cibil, that will just make a "U" shape recovery in couple of months.

Anything over 750 is fine, don't get too stressed over it.
Are you sure?
Does this happen even in case of new cards generated after expiry or upgraded cards?
I think the credit account should not change in cibil. I am not sure.

Are you sure?
Does this happen even in case of new cards generated after expiry or upgraded cards?
In those cases, numbers doesn't get changed. Only cvv and expiry dates gets changed.

I think the credit account should not change in cibil. I am not sure.
Why not? You are basically converting network, obviously numbers are going to change.

If numbers doesn't get changed, how would website know that you are on rupay network? They can't see your physical details.

Hypothetical numbers:

Mastercard is starting from 5185 64
RuPay is starting from 6062 74

In those cases, numbers doesn't get changed. Only cvv and expiry dates gets changed.
I have been holding Millenia Masters CC now, it came from a long history of renewals from Titanium Masters -> Some Platinum Visa -> Bharat Rupay -> freedom rupay -> moneyback+ rupay -> now millenia masters obviously lot of BIN changes . CIBIL history shows 10+ years for this card , even though I got it 7 months ago.

A card upgradation or renewal doesn't delete its cibil history

I have been holding Millenia Masters CC now, it came from a long history of renewals from Titanium Masters -> Some Platinum Visa -> Bharat Rupay -> freedom rupay -> moneyback+ rupay -> now millenia masters obviously lot of BIN changes . CIBIL history shows 10+ years for this card , even though I got it 7 months ago.

This is what I was trying to say. Credit Account Number and Card No are two different things. In case of upgradation or network change, the account number remains the same. So why would it result in new cibil entry and closure of old cc.

Upgradation/Renewal is different thing. I never said it will delete the cibil history, don't know from where you got that.

My reply is based on "network change," and I learnt that from axis. Let's say you are right.

If that's the case then why is axis saying we will close your visa variant within 45 days after issuing rupay variant?

Would you like to see 2 active airtel CCs in your cibil when reality is you have only one active?

Why not? You are basically converting network, obviously numbers are going to change.

If numbers doesn't get changed, how would website know that you are on rupay network? They can't see your physical details.

Hypothetical numbers:

Mastercard is starting from 5185 64
RuPay is starting from 6062 74
I get you point. But, I was talking about credit account no which is different from card number. The banks internally assign an account number for each card, which remains same, even after you block and replace or upgrade your card.

If I convert my existing Millennia card into Rupay, Will the credit card age in CIBIL remain the same?
Asking because Millennia is my oldest card and ltf
I think it will remain same. It can be otherwise also. Will update.

Some inputs: Last time I upgraded hdfc mc mb+ to mc millennia it remain same.
But, when I upgraded amex simplyclick to rupay simplysave it closed previous and created new credit account at cibil.

This is what I was trying to say. Credit Account Number and Card No are two different things. In case of upgradation or network change, the account number remains the same. So why would it result in new cibil entry and closure of old cc.
Yes, credit account number remains the same. That doesn't get changed. That's unique for your account.

I am saying for "card digits" which are embossed on physical card.

Upgradation/Renewal is different thing. I never said it will delete the cibil history, don't know from where you got that.

My reply is based on "network change," and I learnt that from axis. Let's say you are right.

If that's the case then why is axis saying we will close your visa variant within 45 days after issuing rupay variant?

Would you like to see 2 active airtel CCs in your cibil when reality is you have only one active?
Because your reply was below a query on CIBIL age.

Axis might work differently, if they are closing your card after 45 days then obviously it will get closed in cibil. They generated a new card account for you.

In case of hdfc, they are doing it like card upgradation only which also involves transfer of points and everything.

Axis might work differently, if they are closing your card after 45 days then obviously it will get closed in cibil. They generated a new card account for you.

In case of hdfc, they are doing it like card upgradation only which also involves transfer of points and everything.
Well this is first time we are going to see network change in HDFC. Let's see what happens in 45-60 days.