CIBIL Score Dropped from 793 to 709 due to ₹7 DPD – Need Help (Axis Bank)

moglibhai

Hi everyone,
I’m really frustrated right now and hoping someone here can guide me.

My CIBIL score dropped from 793 to 709 due to a ₹7 payment that I missed by 11 days on my Axis Bank MyZone credit card. I’ve always maintained a clean repayment history, over 5+ years of credit age, and I currently hold 8 credit cards.

Here’s what exactly happened:

I also have the Axis Flipkart credit card, and both cards had the same due date. I paid the Flipkart card on time, but the MyZone card had a ₹7 due that I missed.

When the bill got generated, I thought: "Let me just pay this now, warna ₹7 ka amount baad mein bhul jaaunga." I was trying to pay immediately through Mobikwik, but:
  • Mobikwik had a minimum payment requirement of ₹10
  • When I entered ₹10, it said: "Outstanding is ₹7, can’t pay more than that"
  • When I entered ₹7, it said: "Minimum payment is ₹10"

So I left it thinking I’ll figure it out later… and exactly what I feared happened — I forgot.

I eventually paid the amount 11 days late, and now I see a DPD entry on my CIBIL report and a huge drop in score. It’s really disheartening because one genuine mistake on a small amount is now impacting my entire credit profile.
Does anyone know if there's a way to get this DPD removed, maybe by contacting Axis Bank and requesting a goodwill correction? Has anyone had success doing this?

Would really appreciate any help or advice. Thanks in advance!

If Mobikwik wasn't allowing, why not opened Axis Netbanking or Open App to pay it immediately.

When subconcious mind was telling you something, you should have followed it. But all these cashback system and other reason make people go after third party.

Don't worry, your CIBIL will get okay in 2-3 months.

An incident happened with my brother in Sep 2015 where he was charged finance charges of Rs.830 by HDFC Bank (which were later reversed as bank was at fault). Account had enough balance. TAD debit was active but somehow system messed up and debited MAD only and later they accepted there were issues with their system and many customer faced this and they reversed for all people affected.

But that incident made me to stay on high alert always with CC payment. I make manual payment 7 days before due date yet keep full bill amount (1.5X) in account balance and always auto-pay active to avoid any circumstances.

If you had auto-pay active with Axis Savings acc. you wouldn't had to worry about it. 🙂

If Mobikwik wasn't allowing, why not opened Axis Netbanking or Open App to pay it immediately.

When subconcious mind was telling you something, you should have followed it. But all these cashback system and other reason make people go after third party.

Don't worry, your CIBIL will get okay in 2-3 months.

An incident happened with my brother in Sep 2015 where he was charged finance charges of Rs.830 by HDFC Bank (which were later reversed as bank was at fault). Account had enough balance. TAD debit was active but somehow system messed up and debited MAD only and later they accepted there were issues with their system and many customer faced this and they reversed for all people affected.

But that incident made me to stay on high alert always with CC payment. I make manual payment 7 days before due date yet keep full bill amount (1.5X) in account balance and always auto-pay active to avoid any circumstances.

If you had auto-pay active with Axis Savings acc. you wouldn't had to worry about it. 🙂
Bhai ji , ₹7 mein kitna hi cashback milega 😅
I thought I’d do it later... but then totally forgot. Auto-pay wasn’t active either — that’s on me. Now I’m just worried because I was about to apply for a home loan in 5–10 days, and I hope this CIBIL thing doesn’t mess it up

Update- I had already emailed to pno axis bank to remove this dpd as a goodwill gesture got a reply from pno to share the complete cibil report memtioned control id from official cibil site with control number, pan number and details of credit card visible in cibil, now I would need cibil subscription to send these

Just inform axis regarding this as amount is very low they will remove it , my friend had same problem he requested in chat option with axis bank they create sr and removed it though warned him not do in future
Hey, I’m honestly quite stressed about this right now.
If you don’t mind, could you please share a few more details about what exactly your friend did — like the exact outstanding amount, how many days DPD was reported on CIBIL, and how long Axis took to remove it? Was dpd was removed from cibil report??

It would really help me understand the process better. Appreciate your help!

Hi everyone,

My CIBIL score dropped from 793 to 709 due to a ₹7 payment that I missed by 11 days on my Axis Bank MyZone credit card. I’ve always maintained a clean repayment history, over 5+ years of credit age, and I currently hold 8 credit cards.

I also have the Axis Flipkart credit card, and both cards had the same due date. I paid the Flipkart card on time, but the MyZone card had a ₹7 due that I missed.

When the bill got generated, I thought: "Let me just pay this now, warna ₹7 ka amount baad mein bhul jaaunga." I was trying to pay immediately through Mobikwik, but:

So I left it thinking I’ll figure it out later… and exactly what I feared happened — I forgot.

I eventually paid the amount 11 days late, and now I see a DPD entry on my CIBIL report and a huge drop in score. It’s really disheartening because one genuine mistake on a small amount is now impacting my entire credit profile.
Does anyone know if there's a way to get this DPD removed, maybe by contacting Axis Bank and requesting a goodwill correction? Has anyone had success doing this?

You can also make payment of rs7 via UPI ID . Like cc 91<registered mob no>cardlast 4 digit>@axisbank
Axis Bank also give you exception for late payment and reporting to cibil. 3 years before I missed a payment of 200+ by 1 day. I called them and they took it as an exceptional.
Also raise a concern to cibil regarding the reason for score drop. They will give you the exact reason I got it ealier

Hi everyone,

I could clearly see the mistake at your end...
Even if it was paltry 7 rs amount, then also you should have not delayed it....
Why rely on just mobikwik only... Axis app will always allow you to make any kind of due payment however small it might be...

Ye 7 rs bahut mehenge padenge aapko

a cartoon frog wearing a blue shirt is smiling and waving

Hi everyone,

@SJM please guide him
What was the MAD?

Don't worry. This has happened with me twice and both times with axis. Just provide all the details to Axis and they will remove the DPD in all CICs.
It happens a lot nowadays because all banks have moved to automatic 15 day reporting to cics.

Now once you provide them all details they will manually process dpd correction from their end and it will take 15 days.

What was the MAD?
I think the solution is well described here, Thanks @SJM for checking
Don't worry. This has happened with me twice and both times with axis. Just provide all the details to Axis and they will remove the DPD in all CICs.
It happens a lot nowadays because all banks have moved to automatic 15 day reporting to cics.

Now once you provide them all details they will manually process dpd correction from their end and it will take 15 days.

I think the solution is well described here, Thanks @SJM for checking
Thank you for the detailed responses so far. While I appreciate the solutions shared, I’d still like to keep this thread open for a little longer to hear from others who might have faced a similar situation. Their perspectives and experiences could offer further clarity and help me make a more informed decision.
Let’s keep it going a bit longer, if that’s okay!

Thanks for sharing your experience — that’s really helpful. If you don’t mind, could you please share a few more details?
Specifically:
  • How many days after the due date did you make the payment?
  • What was the approximate outstanding amount at that time?
  • And how did you get in touch with Axis Bank — was it through email, customer care, or some other method?