Infinia LTF Regalia GOLD is better than Paid Infinia | Reward Points Calculations/Maths | INFINIA is OVERHYPED

nits123

Ref to my recent post, Thanks everyone for your suggestions on Infinia Metal. I considered all points and did some calculations...There are 2 scenarios

1. If Spend is around 7.5 Lac (In normal scenario, Infinia is offered with this much spend..I am not considering special cases of LTF Infinia):

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 20,000
Bonus RP's: 10,000 (5 Lac milestone)
Bonus RP's: 5,000 (8 Lac milestone)
Total RP's: 35,000
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 10,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue/smartbuy flight @ 1:0.5)
B = Quarterly vouchers of Rs 1,500 X 4 = Rs 6,000
C = Flight Vouchers of Rs 5,000 X 2 = Rs 10,000 (5k @ 5 lac and 5k @ 7.5 lac) (Not considering airport drop voucher)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 26,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 25,000
RP's for annual fees = 12,500
A = Value of RP's @ 50 paise = Rs 18,750 (Considering average redemption and not special cases)
B = Annual Fees = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 4,000
Infinia Metal is a BIG loser in this case

Even if you consider RP's value at 1:1 where you have very limited choice to redeem
A = Value of RP's = 25,000
B = Annual Fees RP's value = 12,500
C = Annual Fees incl GST = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A + B - C = Rs 22,750
Benefits of Infinia Metal is way below Regalia Gold despite the fact, you will be forced to you redeem infinia RP's only in flight booking or buying apple products

2. If Spend is around 10 Lac

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 26,666
Total RP's: 46,666
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 12,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue)
C = Flight Vouchers of Rs 5,000 X 2 = Rs 10,000 (5k @ 5 lac and 5k @ 7.5 lac) (Not considering airport drop voucher)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 28,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 33,000
RP's for annual fees = 0 (Annual Fees Waived off)
A = Value of RP's @ 50 paise = Rs 18,750 (Considering average redemption and not special cases)
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 18,750

Even if you consider RP's value at 1:1 where you have very limited choice to redeem
A = Value of RP's = 33,000
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = 33,000
Only 4.5k benefit compared to Regalia Gold which is actually less (refer to point #2 in final conclusion)

MY FINAL CONCLUSION:

1. Infinia Metal is only beneficial if you redeem rewards to book flights through smartbuy or apple products else it is a BIG LOSER compared to Regalia GOLD.
2. 1:1 redemption is actually not a 1:1 as you buy the flight ticket or apple product at FULL value and forego discounts available..This ratio is 1:0.85 (As shared by other experts)
3. Infinia Metal will give you serious stress to spend only on Infinia metal card and you might miss out on other great offers on other cards. Example: Currently Amex is giving maximum offers on Swiggy, Zomato, Blinkit etc.
4. Last but not the least, INFINIA is a OVERHYPED Card in my personal opinion. No offence to Infinia users.

I HAVE DECIDED TO DECLINE THE OFFER TO UPGRADE FROM LTF REGALIA GOLD TO PAID INFINIA.

I apologies if there is any error in my calculation...Kindly mention the same in the comments, I will correct it

hedgehog2122

Ref to my recent post, Thanks everyone for your suggestions on Infinia Metal. I considered all points and did some calculations...There are 2 scenarios

1. If Spend is around 7.5 Lac (In normal scenario, Infinia is offered with this much spend..I am not considering special cases of LTF Infinia):

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 20,000
Total RP's: 35,000
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 10,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue/smartbuy flight @ 1:0.5)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 26,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 25,000
RP's for annual fees = 12,500
B = Annual Fees = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 4,000

A = Value of RP's = 25,000
B = Annual Fees RP's value = 12,500
C = Annual Fees incl GST = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A + B - C = Rs 22,750
Benefits of Infinia Metal is way below Regalia Gold despite the fact, you will be forced to you redeem infinia RP's only in flight booking or buying apple products

2. If Spend is around 10 Lac

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 26,666
Total RP's: 46,666
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 12,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 28,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 33,000
RP's for annual fees = 0 (Annual Fees Waived off)
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 18,750

A = Value of RP's = 33,000
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = 33,000
Only 4.5k benefit compared to Regalia Gold which is actually less (refer to point #2 in final conclusion)

MY FINAL CONCLUSION:

1. Infinia Metal is only beneficial if you redeem rewards to book flights through smartbuy or apple products else it is a BIG LOSER compared to Regalia GOLD.
2. 1:1 redemption is actually not a 1:1 as you buy the flight ticket or apple product at FULL value and forego discounts available..This ratio is 1:0.85 (As shared by other experts)
3. Infinia Metal will give you serious stress to spend only on Infinia metal card and you might miss out on other great offers on other cards. Example: Currently Amex is giving maximum offers on Swiggy, Zomato, Blinkit etc.
4. Last but not the least, INFINIA is a OVERHYPED Card in my personal opinion. No offence to Infinia users.

I HAVE DECIDED TO DECLINE THE OFFER TO UPGRADE FROM LTF REGALIA GOLD TO PAID INFINIA.

I apologies if there is any error in my calculation...Kindly mention the same in the comments, I will correct it
If you spend more than 4 lacs even on paid regalia gold card, for all practical purposes it is LTF only.

hedgehog2122

Just a question in my mind?
- is everyone here supporting Infinia does actually hold it and have practically experienced benefits.
- whether those who have regalia gold and can't find a way to upgrade to Infinia are favouring RG card. Matlab, Dil ko tasalli de rahe hai.

Another example from different card - I have spend just over 30k in last 6 months on scapia to get unlimited lounge access. I have made almost 50 odd lounge visits so far. Plus booked hotel once from their app redeemed 3000 scapia coins equivalent to Rs. 600. Scapia is not my primary card as personal spends are restricted to 5000 to unlock lounges. In my opinion it's a perfect card for me. If I didn't had a scapia I would have to have at least 12 separate card with min 2 lounge access per quarter card.

So choices and requirement of each individual are different and ofcourse not every card is meant for everyone.

Swastik

I have spend just over 30k in last 6 months on scapia to get unlimited lounge access. I have made almost 50 odd lounge visits so far.
Wow ,50 Lounge visits in 6 months ,i couldn't do it in 6 years ,how much do you fly

Why not pick up one of the Super Premium Cards with Unlimited lounges or get BOB Eterna or something

P.s. - i got neither ,not supporting anything, Infinia Card is kind of an Aspirational Object for me

mast2510

Hi friends, this is a very interesting conversation. I have been holding Inifinia since Oct-2022, and I would like to share my experience for the last year.
The amount spent from April '23 to Mar '24: 13.8L.
Points received: 75525.
Points reward value: 5.5%.
I have converted most of these points to Accor and have enjoyed several hotel stays since they provide 1.8 times the value. Unfortunately, there has been a devaluation for Accor since January!!!
I hold memberships with Accor, Marriott, and ITC.
From now on, I would like to use these points to book hotels in some small towns where I don't find Accor or other big hotels available.

Also would like to add more points which we enjoyed.
Took 2 additional add on cards for my family members and had visited multiple airport lounges in last few months. Had a great experience at Bangalore 080 lounge.

manit

Check the statement in which you crossed 5L spends. You would've definitely got 10000 points. Two of us have shared screenshots. Next milestone is 5000 points on 8L spends.

He made a mistake on saying 7.5L spends. But he admitted and edited the original post
I have spent more than 8L on regalia gold, I haven't received any bonus 10k or 5K reward points and I don't remember it being mentioned anywhere.

awara

And some are not getting either(ex. Me) and just here to enjoying the banter 😅
I reached a level where I got infinia after using credit cards for almost 13 years. You'll get there.
Have used all sorts of cards over all these years, infinia beats them all.
I can accept the argument where one says 'Infinia is not for me, because my spends are low or the redemption options are not suitable for me' but passing sweeping statements like Regalia gold is better than Infinia backed by biased and flawed calculations is just being delusional or ignorant.

Chiklu

places you will benefit from infinia
1) smartbuy voucher purchase, no comparison with other cards
2) ITC buffet plus stay benefits. (Approx 10% user of infinia uses this)
3) unlimited lounge access within and outside india. On your foreign trip you can save multiple breakfast, lunch and dinner with food in lounge.
4) forex, there are cards which gives 0% but here it’s 2% and get back 3.33% overall earning 1.33 % ? Any card giving more than this in forex? Buy a forex card and they will charge you every time for loading money. And rates are not as good as visa rate.
5) swiggy Dineout, flat 15%. Bill of 2000 is common for infinia people.
6)flat 3.33% rewards points on any other offline purchase.

Who redeems rewards points for cash? That the worst way to redeem for any card.

Every one has their own opinion on CCs.

"Credit Cards are like pokemon cards. Catch `em all" - @plastikman
"Credit Cards are like disposable syringes. Get a new CC , enjoy the welcome benefits and throw it away. Aapko gabrana nahi hai" - @DocFixIt

But at the end, Credit is a liability and CC is a payment tool. Nothing to boast or frown.

If you ask me,

images

CCs are like underwear, just use the right fit n comfort ones.

Its really funny how some people boast about their CCs. Going to looong verbal fights here.
It is like fighting that my Jockey is better than your VIP. My naada cheddi is better than Levis.
This is a matter of aaraam (comfort) not sangram (confront).
Steven Universe Cartoon GIF by CNLA

narun2001

I do like the detailed calculation. I will give you my real world return rate last after replies.
Smart buy/Gyftr offers are available on paytm and so many other websites...In my opinion, nothing unique in smartbuy/gyftr....smartbuy flight tickets are normally 10% costly than other websites excluding discounts on other websites like yatra, easemytrip etc...
Like many others have pointed out, Gyftr vouchers you get at 16.66% off. There's no other charges or markup there except for Amazon Pay voucher. Although prices might be 10% higher, your effective base reward rate will come down to say 3% from 3.33%(on smartbuy flights and hotels, yes, but if it's not how you're going to use it, maybe this is not the right card for you. I've not taken and Amex cards so far just because getting Taj vouchers and Marriot points don't fit in my lifestyle).
I respect everyone's opinion...So far i can only see subjective and emotional arguments in favor of infinia....I was expecting a quantitative argument backed with calculations proving that infinia is better....Unfortunately, i could see none.....I will wait for the same till then i rest my case...CIAO
I've been using Infinia for the past 2.5 years where I've put all my spends in just this card. I'm tracking about 6.4% reward rate. In my wife's Infinia, it's about 7.05%. This is not considering the numerous Lounge visits, dineout discounts, global value program cashback and other global value rewards. Moving forward, I'm planning to put all my non gyftr/smartbuy spends in Magnus(even after the devaluation, I know) so that will improve my reward rate even further since it'll be concentrated on 16.66%. What I really like about Infinia is that I don't have to play the airmiles game and book limited award flights in business class to realize 1 rupee per point value. Every month, I just buy swiggy/amazon vouchers and I don't have to worry about anything else.

Even in your calculation, the incremental total benefits that you're getting on Regalia from 8L spend to 10L spend is just 2000. Effectively, for every additional 1 lakh you spend from 8L on your Regalia, you'll get only 1% reward rate. Even base reward rate on infinia is 3.33% not considering any 5x/10x, so it'll quickly catchup as you spend more. Please do your calculations for 15L and 20L and there will be a huge difference between the two.

I'm not claiming that Infinia is better than Regalia. I can only say that it's the better card for me. Similarly, you've done your calculations and have decided it's not the better card for you, which I respect. However, saying that it's a trap and regalia is best is not correct IMO.

rogerthat

Check the statement in which you crossed 5L spends. You would've definitely got 10000 points. Two of us have shared screenshots. Next milestone is 5000 points on 8L spends.

He made a mistake on saying 7.5L spends. But he admitted and edited the original post
I never made such spends on Regalia Gold because there is no mention anywhere of such milestone benefits in the form of RPs! Can you show me where its mentioned that Regalia Gold has milestone benefits in the form of points?

My primary card for the past year was Magnus and now Atlas. My game is to accumulate Avios and Regalia Gold is utterly useless in that regard, milestone or no milestone.

sidp

Cost benefit analysis does not work in favour of spending more on Infinia which i shared in my post.
I get you that you dont want to bother with tracking which method will give higher reward & how to extract highest value out of each reward point. That's upto you. I know Many people who do that. They use one card and don't bother about rewards.

But what you are doing here is misleading. It's completely biased. You are claiming ltf regalia gold is better than infinnia, which it is not.
E.g. if on an average, i have 20k worth of spend on bb+1mg+tata cliq every month, i have 2 options.
1. Use their standalone app and pay cash on delivery using upI which will get me 1.5% neucoins
2. Use tata neu app and pay using tata neu infinity which will get me 10% neu coins.

Now for my convenience I can use any method. That's upto me. But if I say tata neu infinity gives only 1.5% return on my tata spends, then that's misleading (& wrong).

If we can't walk properly, we shouldn't blame the road. (Just my opinion) 🤣

Sriim

I never made such spends on Regalia Gold because there is no mention anywhere of such milestone benefits in the form of RPs! Can you show me where its mentioned that Regalia Gold has milestone benefits in the form of points?

My primary card for the past year was Magnus and now Atlas. My game is to accumulate Avios and Regalia Gold is utterly useless in that regard, milestone or no milestone.
Google Regalia Gold 8 lakhs and it'll be given in many reviews. I'm mentioning because I got this benefits. Have attached screenshot in a previous message