Infinia LTF Regalia GOLD is better than Paid Infinia | Reward Points Calculations/Maths | INFINIA is OVERHYPED

nits123

Ref to my recent post, Thanks everyone for your suggestions on Infinia Metal. I considered all points and did some calculations...There are 2 scenarios

1. If Spend is around 7.5 Lac (In normal scenario, Infinia is offered with this much spend..I am not considering special cases of LTF Infinia):

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 20,000
Bonus RP's: 10,000 (5 Lac milestone)
Bonus RP's: 5,000 (8 Lac milestone)
Total RP's: 35,000
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 10,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue/smartbuy flight @ 1:0.5)
B = Quarterly vouchers of Rs 1,500 X 4 = Rs 6,000
C = Flight Vouchers of Rs 5,000 X 2 = Rs 10,000 (5k @ 5 lac and 5k @ 7.5 lac) (Not considering airport drop voucher)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 26,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 25,000
RP's for annual fees = 12,500
A = Value of RP's @ 50 paise = Rs 18,750 (Considering average redemption and not special cases)
B = Annual Fees = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 4,000
Infinia Metal is a BIG loser in this case

Even if you consider RP's value at 1:1 where you have very limited choice to redeem
A = Value of RP's = 25,000
B = Annual Fees RP's value = 12,500
C = Annual Fees incl GST = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A + B - C = Rs 22,750
Benefits of Infinia Metal is way below Regalia Gold despite the fact, you will be forced to you redeem infinia RP's only in flight booking or buying apple products

2. If Spend is around 10 Lac

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 26,666
Total RP's: 46,666
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 12,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue)
C = Flight Vouchers of Rs 5,000 X 2 = Rs 10,000 (5k @ 5 lac and 5k @ 7.5 lac) (Not considering airport drop voucher)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 28,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 33,000
RP's for annual fees = 0 (Annual Fees Waived off)
A = Value of RP's @ 50 paise = Rs 18,750 (Considering average redemption and not special cases)
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 18,750

Even if you consider RP's value at 1:1 where you have very limited choice to redeem
A = Value of RP's = 33,000
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = 33,000
Only 4.5k benefit compared to Regalia Gold which is actually less (refer to point #2 in final conclusion)

MY FINAL CONCLUSION:

1. Infinia Metal is only beneficial if you redeem rewards to book flights through smartbuy or apple products else it is a BIG LOSER compared to Regalia GOLD.
2. 1:1 redemption is actually not a 1:1 as you buy the flight ticket or apple product at FULL value and forego discounts available..This ratio is 1:0.85 (As shared by other experts)
3. Infinia Metal will give you serious stress to spend only on Infinia metal card and you might miss out on other great offers on other cards. Example: Currently Amex is giving maximum offers on Swiggy, Zomato, Blinkit etc.
4. Last but not the least, INFINIA is a OVERHYPED Card in my personal opinion. No offence to Infinia users.

I HAVE DECIDED TO DECLINE THE OFFER TO UPGRADE FROM LTF REGALIA GOLD TO PAID INFINIA.

I apologies if there is any error in my calculation...Kindly mention the same in the comments, I will correct it

Sriim

I forgot to add 10000 more reward points which are due for spending 7.5 lakh....Heading for 750k is mentioned in screenshot also...It will KILL INFINIA once for all
Its 5000 more for spending 8L. There's no additional points on 7.5L spending. They give like 1 point for 6L, 7.5L milestones. Haven't found the reason for that.

• Screenshot_2024-03-25-13-38-57-69_58f827c9f8cd1dffd850cad9571f3f22.jpg
    Screenshot_2024-03-25-13-38-57-69_58f827c9f8cd1dffd850cad9571f3f22.jpg
    52.8 KB · Views: 45

Sriim

In my opinion, Infinia gives a lot of value. But there are people like me, who's a year or two into their credit journey, who can't get infinia on a whim, whose request to upgrade to DCB is rejected even after spending 8L on Regalia Gold.

For such people, I feel Regalia Gold is an extraordinary card. Without including the flight vouchers (which everyone will not have use for) in reward rates, Regalia Gold has consistently given on an average 3% returns on all eligible online and offline spends. That is extraordinary for a LTF card according to me. And on top of that, there's almost 8.3% returns on all gyftr vouchers (except Apay due to processing fees)

But the real sweet spot is spending at least 1.5lakh every quarter (total 6L spend) or hitting 8L spend/year. If you spend less than 1.5L in any quarter or start spending more than 8L, the returns fall, as is the case with any milestone based card.

I would prefer at least DCB for the increase in gyftr reward rate and no pressure to complete the milestones. But I'm extremely content with Regalia Gold (that too LTF) till I get DCB/Infinia.

I also have
ICICI Apay
Tata Neu infinity
BOB HPCL Energie
Airtel Axis
IndusInd Legend
Amex MRCC
Amex Gold
SBI cashback
But Regalia Gold is my all rounder. Anybody who can't get premium cards, Regalia Gold can be your best buddy.

Sriim

In my opinion, Infinia gives a lot of value. But there are people like me, who's a year or two into their credit journey, who can't get infinia on a whim, whose request to upgrade to DCB is rejected even after spending 8L on Regalia Gold.

For such people, I feel Regalia Gold is an extraordinary card. Without including the flight vouchers (which everyone will not have use for) in reward rates, Regalia Gold has consistently given on an average 3% returns on all eligible online and offline spends. That is extraordinary for a LTF card according to me. And on top of that, there's almost 8.3% returns on all gyftr vouchers (except Apay due to processing fees)

But the real sweet spot is spending at least 1.5lakh every quarter (total 6L spend) or hitting 8L spend/year. If you spend less than 1.5L in any quarter or start spending more than 8L, the returns fall, as is the case with any milestone based card.

I would prefer at least DCB for the increase in gyftr reward rate and no pressure to complete the milestones. But I'm extremely content with Regalia Gold (that too LTF) till I get DCB/Infinia.

I also have
ICICI Apay
Tata Neu infinity
BOB HPCL Energie
Airtel Axis
IndusInd Legend
Amex MRCC
Amex Gold
SBI cashback
But Regalia Gold is my all rounder. Anybody who can't get premium cards, Regalia Gold can be your best buddy.
For how I got to 3% returns, please refer to my post in another thread

Post in thread 'Regalia Gold complementary Airport Drop benefit decoded' https://www.technofino.in/community...irport-drop-benefit-decoded.24219/post-565022

bitsst

Ref to my recent post, Thanks everyone for your suggestions on Infinia Metal. I considered all points and did some calculations...There are 2 scenarios

1. If Spend is around 7.5 Lac (In normal scenario, Infinia is offered with this much spend..I am not considering special cases of LTF Infinia):

(a) Regalia Gold:
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 10,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue/smartbuy flight @ 1:0.5)

(b) Infinia Metal:

Benefits of Infinia Metal is way below Regalia Gold despite the fact, you will be forced to you redeem infinia RP's only in flight booking or buying apple products

(a) Regalia Gold:
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 12,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue)

(b) Infinia Metal:
B = Annual Fees = 0

Net Benefits = 33,000
Only 4.5k benefit compared to Regalia Gold which is actually less (refer to point #2 in final conclusion)

MY FINAL CONCLUSION:

1. Infinia Metal is only beneficial if you redeem rewards to book flights through smartbuy or apple products else it is a BIG LOSER compared to Regalia GOLD.
2. 1:1 redemption is actually not a 1:1 as you buy the flight ticket or apple product at FULL value and forego discounts available..This ratio is 1:0.85 (As shared by other experts)
3. Infinia Metal will give you serious stress to spend only on Infinia metal card and you might miss out on other great offers on other cards. Example: Currently Amex is giving maximum offers on Swiggy, Zomato, Blinkit etc.
4. Last but not the least, INFINIA is a OVERHYPED Card in my personal opinion. No offence to Infinia users.

I HAVE DECIDED TO DECLINE THE OFFER TO UPGRADE FROM LTF REGALIA GOLD TO PAID INFINIA.

I apologies if there is any error in my calculation...Kindly mention the same in the comments, I will correct it
Calculation is biased and skewed. Where is smartbuy? That shows the actual difference.

I spend around 10-12 Lacs annually on Infinia, and get around 60-80K Tanishq vouchers every year using reward points. There are multiple other benefits likes unlimited lounge access for self, spouse and parents, discounts on swiggy dineout, and many more.

Infinia is the card which makes the bill of 8K on dineout to 6.8K, and those who accompany me..... They open their mouth in awe.

rogerthat

Thanks for confirmation....In my dashboard, i can see 10k @ 7.5 lac (May be some back end error)...However, based on your confirmation i have changed my calculations...Still, it does not make much difference...Regalia Gold is BEST :)
Regalia Gold offers NO milestone benefits in the form of reward points. OP is misleading with bogus calculations.

I hold Regalia Gold and there is no mention of any such offer of 10k points on achieving 7.5L spends.

Sriim

Regalia Gold offers NO milestone benefits in the form of reward points. OP is misleading with bogus calculations.

I hold Regalia Gold and there is no mention of any such offer of 10k points on achieving 7.5L spends.
Check the statement in which you crossed 5L spends. You would've definitely got 10000 points. Two of us have shared screenshots. Next milestone is 5000 points on 8L spends.

He made a mistake on saying 7.5L spends. But he admitted and edited the original post

Akshays

(a) Regalia Gold:

(b) Infinia Metal:

(a) Regalia Gold:

(b) Infinia Metal:
B = Annual Fees = 0

Net Benefits = 33,000

MY FINAL CONCLUSION:

You are Ignoring the 5X multiplier on Smartbuy and Gyftr. This is the thing that boosts infinia Well above other cards in terms of returns, although most vouchers that are useful have monthly caps like Amazon Pay and Amazon Shopping, but still the potential reward rate is much higher, if you simply keep buying Apay/Amazon Shopping vouchers to the fullest quota and keep them handy for later. You can buy other vouchers (Swiggy, Zomato, Reliance smart, Jewellery vouchers) from Amazon shopping voucher balance too. Your use case might vary so if it's not the right card for you then by all means enjoy Regalia Gold, that too is a very good card. But Infinia is regarded better for couple of reasons and one of them is the multiplier with GVs, even though lifestyle benefits that come with Infinia may not be tangible benefits for everyone.

There is no ‘one fits all’ card. Everyone needs to calculate the usage like @nits123 before getting a new card or upgrade. Even evaluate the existing cards to ensure they giving the best value.
Exactly ... everyone must understand this

Chiklu

Think about customer base of infinia, this is invite only card, more than 90% or infinia customer don’t bother about renewal as they easily reach threshold.
Only PP which works domestic, many airports like bangalore have lounge for premimum card which is less crowded than the other lounge.
Have you used arrival lounge of bangalore. I have used it because of infinia, and trust me I was sitting there 2 hours and I was alone in the lounge. Remembering good old days before lounge where filled with all cards.
You haven’t consider GYFTR benefits. Even for mall purchase you can buy gift voucher of big outlets. The customer base of infinia mostly travels from flights and multiple times a year. Smartbuy flights ratio is 1:1.
ITC benefits. There is a reason it’s called super premium card and it’s given on invite only basis. You don’t have to think before each purchase which card should be better for this merchant. Just take out infinia and flat 3.33% back.