Infinia LTF Regalia GOLD is better than Paid Infinia | Reward Points Calculations/Maths | INFINIA is OVERHYPED

nits123

Ref to my recent post, Thanks everyone for your suggestions on Infinia Metal. I considered all points and did some calculations...There are 2 scenarios

1. If Spend is around 7.5 Lac (In normal scenario, Infinia is offered with this much spend..I am not considering special cases of LTF Infinia):

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 20,000
Bonus RP's: 10,000 (5 Lac milestone)
Bonus RP's: 5,000 (8 Lac milestone)
Total RP's: 35,000
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 10,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue/smartbuy flight @ 1:0.5)
B = Quarterly vouchers of Rs 1,500 X 4 = Rs 6,000
C = Flight Vouchers of Rs 5,000 X 2 = Rs 10,000 (5k @ 5 lac and 5k @ 7.5 lac) (Not considering airport drop voucher)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 26,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 25,000
RP's for annual fees = 12,500
A = Value of RP's @ 50 paise = Rs 18,750 (Considering average redemption and not special cases)
B = Annual Fees = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 4,000
Infinia Metal is a BIG loser in this case

Even if you consider RP's value at 1:1 where you have very limited choice to redeem
A = Value of RP's = 25,000
B = Annual Fees RP's value = 12,500
C = Annual Fees incl GST = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A + B - C = Rs 22,750
Benefits of Infinia Metal is way below Regalia Gold despite the fact, you will be forced to you redeem infinia RP's only in flight booking or buying apple products

2. If Spend is around 10 Lac

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 26,666
Bonus RP's: 10,000 (5 Lac milestone)
Bonus RP's: 5,000 (8 Lac milestone)
Total RP's: 46,666
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 12,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue)
B = Quarterly vouchers of Rs 1,500 X 4 = Rs 6,000
C = Flight Vouchers of Rs 5,000 X 2 = Rs 10,000 (5k @ 5 lac and 5k @ 7.5 lac) (Not considering airport drop voucher)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 28,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 33,000
RP's for annual fees = 0 (Annual Fees Waived off)
A = Value of RP's @ 50 paise = Rs 18,750 (Considering average redemption and not special cases)
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 18,750
Infinia Metal is a BIG loser in this case

Even if you consider RP's value at 1:1 where you have very limited choice to redeem
A = Value of RP's = 33,000
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = 33,000
Only 4.5k benefit compared to Regalia Gold which is actually less (refer to point #2 in final conclusion)

MY FINAL CONCLUSION:

1. Infinia Metal is only beneficial if you redeem rewards to book flights through smartbuy or apple products else it is a BIG LOSER compared to Regalia GOLD.
2. 1:1 redemption is actually not a 1:1 as you buy the flight ticket or apple product at FULL value and forego discounts available..This ratio is 1:0.85 (As shared by other experts)
3. Infinia Metal will give you serious stress to spend only on Infinia metal card and you might miss out on other great offers on other cards. Example: Currently Amex is giving maximum offers on Swiggy, Zomato, Blinkit etc.
4. Last but not the least, INFINIA is a OVERHYPED Card in my personal opinion. No offence to Infinia users.

I HAVE DECIDED TO DECLINE THE OFFER TO UPGRADE FROM LTF REGALIA GOLD TO PAID INFINIA.

I apologies if there is any error in my calculation...Kindly mention the same in the comments, I will correct it

sxchzy

your calculations are very biased.
you are accounting for all probable benefits Regalia Gold has to offer in a calendar year but not in one instance have you accounted for spends made on smart buy for flights/hotels or even gift vouchers which yield accelerated rewards which would alter your calculations.
secondly, your redemption rate should be at 0.7-0.8 for infinia as mentioned for flights.
thirdly infinia wont have any fees for the first year if it is an upgrade

nits123

your calculations are very biased.
you are accounting for all probable benefits Regalia Gold has to offer in a calendar year but not in one instance have you accounted for spends made on smart buy for flights/hotels or even gift vouchers which yield accelerated rewards which would alter your calculations.
secondly, your redemption rate should be at 0.7-0.8 for infinia as mentioned for flights.
Bro...humbly request to go through the calculations once again...You might not have gone through my entire post....I mentioned scenario when you consider RP's value at 1:1....Infinia lost heavily in these scenario also if you consider 07-0.8

JAM

Bro...humbly request to go through the calculations once again...You might not have gone through my entire post....I mentioned scenario when you consider RP's value at 1:1....Infinia lost heavily in these scenario also if you consider 07-0.8
As mentioned once before and repeated by others. Your calculations aren't worth anything because you are taking the base rate.
You have to use gyftr. There is no equivalent to this on any single card as of now in India. Nothing comes close. Amazon Pay 20k per month itself is huge.

nits123

there is no fees for 1st year but you will be in mental trauma for whole year from the day you receive card to spend 10 lacs to waive of renewal fees and might miss on some great offers on other cards as i mentioned in my post...

If you will not be able to spend then you will be charged fees.

INFINIA is a BIG TRAP for Card holders (My personal opinion)

sourpai

Please decline the upgrade offer. Infinia is not suitable to you based on calculations you have done for yourself. Although I must say that your calculations are little one sided. If they suit you then fine.... But it will be wrong to say generically that Regalia gold LTF is better than Infinia

The card will deliver high value only to high spenders and travellers. If you are not one of them then look for other cards. Infinia's target segment is different

sxchzy

there is no fees for 1st year but you will be in mental trauma for whole year from the day you receive card to spend 10 lacs to waive of renewal fees and might miss on some great offers on other cards as i mentioned in my post...

well if you are in mental trauma to reach the fees waiver this card is not made for you

mj01

You my friend have completely missed the point by valuing every single point at 1.67% for 10L spends. That is not how Infinia works and if you don't know how to make better rewards than that then maybe you really shouldn't get it. Read more threads on Infinia if you really wanna know its benefits. Good luck!

Alex292929

Also just wanted to add I don’t think we get 10k RPs on 7.5 Lac milestone.
7.5 Lac Milestone is for 5000 Flight Voucher.

As per the HDFC website we get 10k RPs on spends of 5L and additional 5k on spend of 8L.

nits123

Also just wanted to add I don’t think we get 10k RPs on 7.5 Lac milestone.
7.5 Lac Milestone is for 5000 Flight Voucher.

As per the HDFC website we get 10k RPs on spends of 5L and additional 5k on spend of 8L.
you are referring to business regalia T&C

mj01

The main problem with your calculations is assuming you'll get base reward points for every spend. For example, how much do you spend on groceries/ online shopping per month? (Swiggy/ zomato/ amazon/ big basket/ flipkart/ etc) You don't value these at 3.33% but at 16.67% (5x RP). And that is where the hidden and coveted value of Infinia comes into play.

Zacobite

Smart buy/Gyftr offers are available on paytm and so many other websites...In my opinion, nothing unique in smartbuy/gyftr....smartbuy flight tickets are normally 10% costly than other websites excluding discounts on other websites like yatra, easemytrip etc...
You are not considering the fact that for 10% less cost on websites you are paying cash and not free points!! nothing unique about gyftr means that you haven't really picked up on the USP of the card..

Zacobite

infinia is not for users who worry about 12.5k fee.. simple.. its for users who can derive significant benefits with their REGULAR spends.. however your opinion is your opinion and due respect to it..