How I Successfully Upgraded My Airtel Axis Bank Credit Card from Mastercard to RuPay Variant

Deepak_9155

Hey guys,

Just got my Airtel Axis Mastercard swapped for the Rupay variant, and thought I'd share the process and a little trick I figured out.

So, I called up Axis Bank today and asked them to switch my card from Mastercard to Rupay. The rep on the line said it was possible, but a joining fee would be charged.

I told her I had already paid the joining fee when I first got the card in September 2023, so they should waive it. She put me on hold for a couple of minutes but came back and said the fee is compulsory for a new card issuance, and a waiver is not possible.

This is where I had a thought. My annual fee for the old Mastercard was due next month (September 2025) anyway. I would have had to shell out ₹500 + GST for it regardless.

So I thought, what the heck. I might as well pay this "joining fee" now. The bright side is that my annual fee cycle for this new card will start from today, meaning the next renewal fee will only be in August 2026.

I agreed and told her to proceed. The rep then explained the card's benefits and sent me an SMS where I had to provide my consent by verifying it with an OTP. This was successfully done.

1754032974727.webp

Basically, I paid the fee I was going to pay next month anyway, got the Rupay card I wanted, and pushed my next payment out by an extra year. It seemed like a fair deal to me.

The process was very fast! The new Airtel Axis RuPay card is already showing up in my Axis mobile app. The strange part, however, is that my old Airtel Mastercard has already disappeared from the app and the net banking website.

1754033025664.webp

Now, it only shows my other cards (like my Privilege card) and the new Airtel RuPay card.

The rep confirmed that the physical card will arrive within 10-14 working days. She also clarified their official policy on the old card: my existing Airtel Axis Mastercard will be deactivated precisely on the 45th day from the new card's setup date.

Just a heads-up for anyone else in the same boat whose renewal is coming up. This might be a decent trade-off.

EDIT - customer care representative told me that no welcome benefits will be provided(as it was already provided during 1st time ). In the CIBIL report, a new account will be created and the previous account will be closed.

So, basically, they are issuing a new credit card instead of just changing the network.

UPDATE: August 4, 2025 - I Received the Welcome Voucher After All!

Hey everyone, a quick and very surprising update.

You might remember that customer care explicitly told me I would NOT get any welcome benefits for this upgrade. Well, I'm happy to report they were wrong! I received the ₹500 Amazon voucher this morning.

Here's the sequence of events:
  • My ₹590 joining fee was charged on August 1st.
  • Yesterday, I made my very first transaction with the new RuPay card – just a small UPI payment of ₹215 at a local shop.
  • This morning, the voucher was in my email inbox.

1754281343084.webp
I want to be clear that I did not contact the bank at all for this. It seems their system automatically sent the voucher after the first transaction, regardless of what the support team says.

This just adds more evidence that the system is treating this as a completely new card issuance. So for anyone else upgrading, there's a good chance you'll get the voucher too!

I have upgraded the card on 8th of August and completed my first transaction (UPI scan and pay ₹112)on 13th August, card is still transit yet i haven't recieved welcome voucher.
My main query is my credit statement usually generated on 12 th every month and was mailed to me on 13th this time i haven't received my statement.
As per customer care i would receive my new statement for new card but I haven't received the card.
Should I pay it off to my older card before my new card arrives or just pay for new card
@mailmenow
@Manishg
Same bhai lagta hai next month ayega ab banke

I have upgraded the card on 8th of August and completed my first transaction (UPI scan and pay ₹112)on 13th August, card is still transit yet i haven't recieved welcome voucher.
My main query is my credit statement usually generated on 12 th every month and was mailed to me on 13th this time i haven't received my statement.
As per customer care i would receive my new statement for new card but I haven't received the card.
Should I pay it off to my older card before my new card arrives or just pay for new card
@mailmenow
@Manishg
Bro my airtel statement is generated today as my bill generation date is 15th of every month. But bill is generated 1 day before(usually bill will generate 15th midnight). I can pay the bill to your old card. There is no problem with that. I paid my bill to my older master card. If you pay to new card also it's doesn't make any problem. Because both cards transaction combined as a one card transaction only. You can do everything using the old card for 45days from the date of new card setup.
Most probably we will get new" airtel rupay card " name showing statement from next statement onwards only not this month I think. If anyone received the statement, please confirm

You can do everything using the old card for 45days from the date of new card setup.
Most probably we will get new" airtel rupay card " name showing statement from next statement onwards only not this month I think. If anyone received the statement, please confirm
Should I manually calculate and pay (as my statement is not generated as per usual statement date13th of every month)

Sometimes the bill generated 1-2 days before actual. Sometimes my cashback got credited on 8th 9th of every month. It happens. In app u can see the bill due generated for this month
👍
I actually thought it was complete including my all emi pending.
Looks like I can just remove other card outstanding and pay off the rest as this card balance

Bro my airtel statement is generated today as my bill generation date is 15th of every month. But bill is generated 1 day before(usually bill will generate 15th midnight). I can pay the bill to your old card. There is no problem with that. I paid my bill to my older master card. If you pay to new card also it's doesn't make any problem. Because both cards transaction combined as a one card transaction only. You can do everything using the old card for 45days from the date of new card setup.
Edit: I got the statement delivered now. It's showing both cards transaction seperately with a combined earned cashback

Thanks @Deepak_9155 for this thread.
Been fighting with Axis since past 2 3months for this network transfer. After reading your post yesterday, called customer care and it got upgraded to Rupay within minutes.
Though they confirmed that welcome benefits will not be given, but i am still hopeful. even if not, should be fine as last year i spent more than 2lac and annual charges was not leived for the old card.
Also they confirmed that all old transactions will be transferred to the new rupay card, which means pending cashback will be added in this new rupay card statement.

Virtual card details can be seen in Axis app, but still i am unable to link the rupay card in any upi app, it shows i do not have any axis rupay card available to link.

Finally I can stop running behind supermoney pro.

Hi @Deepak_9155 / @mailmenow , I am trying to pay one bill in Airtel app. On the payment page it is not allowing to input new card number or edit the existing card (Master card) number to Rupay. Could you please check yours?
For airtel recharge it shows both saved master and rupay cards. But for other utilities like gas, electricity and for non-airtel recharge it shows no rupay but need to enter master card details again. Looks so strange

For airtel recharge it shows both saved master and rupay cards. But for other utilities like gas, electricity and for non-airtel recharge it shows no rupay but need to enter master card details again
For airtel recharge it showed me however for nonairtel number the card option either saved or not saved is completely absent, for utility payment the only option is UPI via airtel thanks and 3rd party upi no rupay credit for this too as for wallet only airtel wallet is supported

Hi @Deepak_9155 / @mailmenow , I am trying to pay one bill in Airtel app. On the payment page it is not allowing to input new card number or edit the existing card (Master card) number to Rupay. Could you please check yours?
Same here. For water bill payment. I spoke to axis and they said the existing mc can be used till 45 days from new card activation and we get all benefits. But now in the otp page airtel thanks app giving some error. Have emailed axis again. Anybody facing same issue ??