Issue Resolved 🆘 Need Guidance: Flipkart Axis Credit Card Cancelled Due to “Non-Personal Usage” — What’s My Next Step?

The highlighted issue has been resolved by the bank/financial institution.

Nandha

Hi TF community,

Today (18th June 2025), I received an unexpected and disappointing email from Axis Bank saying that my Flipkart Axis Credit Card (XX2915) has been cancelled due to suspected non-personal or commercial usage, with all cashback revoked and existing EMIs foreclosed.

They’ve cited transactions between 01-Feb-2025 and 30-Apr-2025, mostly from Flipkart.

Context:

* I spent around ₹5 lakhs during this period
* Nearly 90% of orders were delivered to just 3 addresses (mine and my brothers’)
* All purchases were for personal/family use – gadgets, gifts, household items, etc. No reselling or business usage
* Axis has now asked me to upload invoices or proof within 30 days

One more thing:
I had raised an ombudsman complaint earlier in April regarding a separate unresolved issue with Axis. That complaint is still open, and I have been waiting for resolution for over a year. I’m beginning to think this action might also be related to that escalation, though I can’t be sure.

Need expert guidance:

1. How should I proceed with Axis on this? Should I respond or escalate?
2. Has anyone else faced this kind of closure?
3. Should I contact the nodal officer or RBI CMS?
4. Will this impact my credit score or future card eligibility with Axis?

Appreciate any help or experience shared. Thanks in advance.

– Nandha Kumar

Edit #1

I have sent 53 invoices and 1 pdf containing all invoices list from last 3 months to them on 25th jun 2025. It took me 4 hrs to compile. Around 8k cashback is on hold with them. Let's hope for the best.

Edit #2

Got the card reactivated on 11-July-2025, After sending over 30 mails to MD desk, PNO and NO.

Will put the step by step guide in a seperate post or in this same one if space permits.

Thank you all.

• Screenshot_2025-06-18-21-29-19-52.webp
    Screenshot_2025-06-18-21-29-19-52.webp
    245.3 KB · Views: 296
Summed up Aptly.

No problem with them if you don't misuse it or use it excessively.
Agree, sir. But what is misuse and what is excessive is defined by Axis.
For example in this case, it was genuine but he had to fight for months together till RBI and PNO to unblock his card.
There will always be a fear in the back of the mind about blocking.

Good to know that the issue is solved. But this also gives a big lesson to those who are planning to take Axis bank cards. There is always a risk of card blockage, holding up of points and ask for invoices. It is not a good situation to be in. Axis is very aggressive in tracking misuse. Only if we are ready to face the heat, go with them.

After the recent devaluations on Flipkart axis cards it's not worth much anyway. I fought because I didn't want to loose the already earned cashback and it's a lifetime free card. Also for the limit. Nothing else.

A Real Case Walkthrough + Step-by-Step Resolution

Big thanks for those who helped me out earlier. I dedicate this post to them.

#only try if you strictly used it for personal use. For those who used it for commercial usage, avoid

I have tagged my previous post at #1

🔍 Context (My Experience)

I’ve been facing a persistent Axis mobile app KYC update issue for over a year. After raising it with the RBI Ombudsman in April 2025, Axis Bank blocked my Flipkart Axis Credit Card citing “non-personal usage” — despite all transactions being for personal/family use.

They pointed to:

-Volume of transactions and non-peronal use

After weeks of escalations, the card was finally unblocked. Here’s a step-by-step guide if you ever face this frustrating scenario.

> 💡 Note: My total card spend was ₹2.8L across 53 transactions:
🔸 31 were under ₹1000
🔸 9 were above ₹5000
🔸 Purchases included 6 phones, 2 laptops, 1 refrigerator, and other personal/home items
🔸 Due to my hybrid work setup and staying with relatives/grandparents, name/address mismatches happened
🔸 Belong to a large joint family, so multiple devices were bought for family use

⚠️ This is my personal scenario — your spending pattern or context may vary.

---

🧭 Step-by-Step Guide to Resolve It

---

✅ Step 1: Upload Invoices via Axis Chat Support

Go to Axis Bank's official chat support

Upload all invoices, especially for high-ticket items (laptops, mobiles, etc.)

If you have too many invoices rename it like this which might help organising it "15Apr25_17895.pdf".

Just upload – no need to explain here.

Save the Service Request (SR) number

> 📝 Tip: Combine invoices into a single PDF and name it clearly (e.g., Flipkart_Axis_Invoices.pdf)

---

✅ Step 2: Email the Nodal Officer

📧 Email: nodal.officer@axisbank.com
📌 Include:

Your SR number

Clearly mention:

Transactions were for personal/family use, ask them why they consider it non-personal use.

Different names due to delivery constraints

Address variation due to hybrid work or staying with relatives

You belong to a joint family — hence multiple phones/devices were ordered(my case)

Request a call back and say:

> “Kindly call to discuss further — I will be recording the conversation with mutual consent to avoid future misrepresentation.”

---

✅ Step 3: Escalate to Principal Nodal Officer (PNO)

📧 Email: pno@axisbank.com
📌 Include:

SR number and previous mail trail

A detailed explanation of all purchases
(e.g. 6 phones, 2 laptops, refrigerator, other items — all personal)

Clearly state: None of the transactions were for commercial use

Ask again for a call and record it with consent

> ⚠️ In my case, a PNO team member first acknowledged my explanation on call, but later flipped the script in their email(they said that I agreed that it is non-personal usage and the okay with card blocking).
Recording helped me prove my side later.

---

✅ Step 4: Escalate to MD & CEO’s Office

📧 Email: amitabh.chaudhry@axisbank.com
📌 Write a concise but firm escalation:

Timeline of the issue

Your earlier KYC/app issue pending for over a year(my personal case, not applicable for everyone)

Mention your RBI Ombudsman escalation (if applicable)

Explain that after that complaint, the card was blocked under “non-personal usage”

Reiterate: all transactions were strictly personal

Request call back and note that conversation will be recorded

---

✅ Optional Last Resort: RBI Ombudsman

If all above fails:

📍 Visit: https://cms.rbi.org.in
File a complaint with full supporting documents, invoices, and escalation trail.

> ⚠️ Note: This is a long, time-consuming process — expect weeks/months of follow-up and documentation. But it works if you're persistent.

---

✅ Final Learnings from My Case

📌 Be ready to send multiple emails at each stage

📲 Record every phone call with consent, especially from PNO team

📎 Upload invoices only once — at Step 1

🧾 Keep all invoices and documents organized

⚠️ Be patient, the process is slow — but possible to win if you're clear and consistent

🧠 Mentioning my RBI Ombudsman complaint helped improve Axis’s response drastically

---

🎯 My Outcome

Flipkart Axis Credit Card was unblocked

Mobile app login still under investigation, but hope progress will be made soon.

No commercial tag on my account anymore

Still following up on missing cashback

My new post regarding this.

Thank you all for the support