Top 3 Most Rewarding Fuel Credit Cards in India (2025)

Fuel purchases are one of the most important expenses in our daily lives. Optimizing fuel spends is essential to maximize rewards on overall spending. There are several ways to earn rewards on fuel purchases - such as paying via FASTag, buying fuel gift vouchers, and using them at fuel stations.
But if you’re someone who prefers to keep things simple and avoid unnecessary complications, then using a good fuel credit card directly at fuel stations is the best option for you.

In this article, I’ll recommend the top 3 credit cards for fuel, which you can use to earn the maximum possible rewards on your fuel spends.

1. RBL IndianOil XTRA Credit Card
Annual Fee:
₹1,500 + GST
Annual Fee Waiver Condition: Spend ₹2,75,000 in the previous year
Card Reward Type: Fuel Points (1 Fuel Point = ₹0.50)

Rewards at IndianOil Fuel Stations:
Earn 7.5% back (15 Fuel Points per ₹100 spent) on fuel purchases up to ₹13,400 per statement cycle (Maximum 2,000 Fuel Points per month).

Fuel Surcharge Waiver at IndianOil Stations:
Get a 1% surcharge waiver on fuel expenses up to ₹20,000 per statement cycle.

My Opinion: So, if you use this card to purchase up to ₹13,400 worth of fuel per month at IndianOil fuel stations, you’ll get a 7.5% reward. While you also receive a 1% fuel surcharge waiver, we won’t consider it as value back since it merely offsets the actual surcharge levied by the fuel station.
The annual fee waiver condition is a bit on the higher side, but even if you don’t meet it and end up paying the annual fee, you’ll still earn around 6.36% value back (excluding the surcharge waiver) on your ₹13,400 monthly fuel spend - which is a very solid return.
If you spend around ₹10,000 or similar amount per month on fuel, this card is definitely worth considering.

Apply for this credit card online: Click Here To Apply For This Credit Card

2. IDFC FIRST Bank HPCL Power+ Credit Card
Annual Fee: ₹499 + GST
Annual Fee Waiver Condition: Spend ₹1,50,000 in the previous year
Card Reward Type: Reward Points (1 Reward Point = ₹0.25)

Rewards at HPCL Fuel Stations:
Earn 5% (30 Reward Points per ₹150 spent at HPCL) on expenses up to ₹12,000 per statement cycle (maximum 2,400 Reward Points per month).
Additionally, earn 1.5% (6 Happy Coins per ₹100 spent) as HP Happy Coins on fuel transactions through the HP Pay app, up to ₹10,000 per month (maximum 600 Happy Coins per month).

Fuel Surcharge Waiver at HPCL Stations:
Fuel surcharge waiver is not available, which means you'll pay an extra 1% as fuel surcharge.

My Opinion:
If you use this card to purchase up to ₹10,000 worth of fuel per month at HPCL fuel stations via the HP Pay app, you’ll earn 5% as Reward Points plus 1.5% as Happy Coins, giving a total 6.5% value back. However, since there’s no surcharge waiver, you’ll lose 1% to fuel surcharge - bringing your net value back to 5.5%.
The annual fee waiver condition is a bit on the higher side for this card as well. But even if you don’t meet it and end up paying the annual fee, you’ll still get around 5% value back on ₹10,000 monthly fuel spends - which is pretty good, though lower than the RBL IndianOil XTRA Card.

If you spend around ₹10,000 or so per month on fuel and can’t get the RBL IndianOil XTRA Card, this is still a solid very good choice.

3. SBI BPCL Octane Credit Card
Annual Fee: ₹1,499 + GST
Annual Fee Waiver Condition: Spend ₹2,00,000 in the previous year

Rewards at BPCL Fuel Stations:
Earn 6.25% back (25 Reward Points per ₹100 spent) on fuel purchases up to ₹10,000 per statement cycle (maximum 2,500 Reward Points per month).

Fuel Surcharge Waiver at BPCL Stations:
Get a 1% surcharge waiver on fuel expenses up to ₹10,000 per statement cycle. (Note: Each transaction must be less than ₹4,000 to be eligible for the waiver.)

My Opinion:
If you use this card to purchase up to ₹10,000 worth of fuel per month at BPCL fuel stations, you’ll get a 6.25% reward. While you also receive a 1% fuel surcharge waiver, we won’t consider it as value back since it merely offsets the actual surcharge levied by the fuel station.
The annual fee waiver condition is slightly on the higher side, but even if you don’t qualify for the waiver and end up paying the annual fee, you’ll still earn around 4.78% value back (including the surcharge waiver) on ₹10,000 monthly fuel spends - which is still not bad at all, though lower than the RBL IndianOil XTRA Card and the IDFC First HPCL Power+ Credit Card.
If you spend around ₹10,000 or similar amount per month on fuel and can’t get the RBL IndianOil XTRA Card & the IDFC First HPCL Power+ Card, then this is a solid third alternative.
Your first choice should be the RBL IndianOil XTRA Card, followed by the IDFC FIRST Power+ Credit Card as the second option, and the SBI BPCL Octane Card as the third.

Priority Order:
  1. RBL IndianOil XTRA Card
  2. IDFC FIRST HPCL Power+ Credit Card
  3. SBI BPCL Octane Card
[A humble request: If you wish to apply for any credit card from the list, kindly use the link provided here, as it will contribute to supporting our community.]

Very useful thread.

For only fuel point of view RBL should be at no 1. But in my opinion I will put SBI OCTANE above RBL for following extra features:
1. 6.25% cb on bharat gas
2. 2.5% cb on departmental store (like smart bazar, jiomart), grocery (online and offline kirana stores), restaurants (also roadside food stalls with restaurant MCC) and movies [ALL CATEGORIES GIVE CB EVEN WITH UPI EXCEPT FUEL]
3. 4 lounge access per year without spending criteria.

Very personal opinion as I don't prefer multiple specialised cards but only very few cards with maximum benefits and less headache.

In the last 8 months of having RBL IOCL, it has missed 3 petrol pumps and not able to recognize Indian oil pump. Then I have to complain and follow up for few hundred rupees points for next few weeks to a month!

Such a shame this card is tbh.

And don't even get me started on their transparency on the points breakup per transaction statement. It's the worst in the world.

And omg their reward portal website password requirement is like the biggest gold reserve site. We can't have last 5 passwords we set before, can't copy/paste id/password on their site + chrome isn't allowed to auto fill password. https://www.rblrewards.com/

RBL is shit and they are proud of that fact.

Fuel purchases are one of the most important expenses in our daily lives. Optimizing fuel spends is essential to maximize rewards on overall spending. There are several ways to earn rewards on fuel purchases - such as paying via FASTag, buying fuel gift vouchers, and using them at fuel stations.
But if you’re someone who prefers to keep things simple and avoid unnecessary complications, then using a good fuel credit card directly at fuel stations is the best option for you.

In this article, I’ll recommend the top 3 credit cards for fuel, which you can use to earn the maximum possible rewards on your fuel spends.

1. RBL IndianOil XTRA Credit Card
Annual Fee:
₹1,500 + GST
Annual Fee Waiver Condition: Spend ₹2,75,000 in the previous year
Card Reward Type: Fuel Points (1 Fuel Point = ₹0.50)

Rewards at IndianOil Fuel Stations:
Earn 7.5% back (15 Fuel Points per ₹100 spent) on fuel purchases up to ₹13,400 per statement cycle (Maximum 2,000 Fuel Points per month).

Fuel Surcharge Waiver at IndianOil Stations:
Get a 1% surcharge waiver on fuel expenses up to ₹20,000 per statement cycle.

My Opinion: So, if you use this card to purchase up to ₹13,400 worth of fuel per month at IndianOil fuel stations, you’ll get a 7.5% reward plus a 1% fuel surcharge waiver, making it a total 8.5% value back.
The annual fee waiver condition is a bit on the higher side, but even if you don’t meet it and end up paying the annual fee, you’ll still earn around 7.4% value back (including the surcharge waiver) on your ₹13,400 monthly fuel spend - which is a very solid return.
If you spend around ₹10,000 or similar amount per month on fuel, this card is definitely worth considering.

2. SBI BPCL Octane Credit Card
Annual Fee: ₹1,499 + GST
Annual Fee Waiver Condition: Spend ₹2,00,000 in the previous year

Rewards at BPCL Fuel Stations:
Earn 6.25% back (25 Reward Points per ₹100 spent) on fuel purchases up to ₹10,000 per statement cycle (maximum 2,500 Reward Points per month).

Fuel Surcharge Waiver at BPCL Stations:
Get a 1% surcharge waiver on fuel expenses up to ₹10,000 per statement cycle. (Note: Each transaction must be less than ₹4,000 to be eligible for the waiver.)

My Opinion:
If you use this card to purchase up to ₹10,000 worth of fuel per month at BPCL fuel stations, you’ll get a 6.25% reward plus a 1% fuel surcharge waiver, totalling a 7.25% value back.
The annual fee waiver condition is slightly on the higher side, but even if you don’t qualify for the waiver and end up paying the annual fee, you’ll still earn around 5.78% value back (including the surcharge waiver) on ₹10,000 monthly fuel spends - which is not bad at all, though lower than the RBL IndianOil XTRA Card.
If you spend around ₹10,000 or similar amount per month on fuel and can’t get the RBL IndianOil XTRA Card, then this is a solid alternative.
Your first choice should be the RBL IndianOil XTRA Card, followed by the SBI BPCL Octane Card.

3. IDFC FIRST Bank HPCL Power+ Credit Card
Annual Fee: ₹499 + GST
Annual Fee Waiver Condition: Spend ₹1,50,000 in the previous year

Rewards at HPCL Fuel Stations:
Earn 5% (30 Reward Points per ₹150 spent at HPCL) on expenses up to ₹12,000 per statement cycle (maximum 2,400 Reward Points per month).
Additionally, earn 1.5% (6 Happy Coins per ₹100 spent) as HP Happy Coins on fuel transactions through the HP Pay app, up to ₹10,000 per month (maximum 600 Happy Coins per month).

Fuel Surcharge Waiver at HPCL Stations:
Fuel surcharge waiver is not available, which means you'll pay an extra 1% as fuel surcharge.

My Opinion:
If you use this card to purchase up to ₹10,000 worth of fuel per month at HPCL fuel stations via the HP Pay app, you’ll earn 5% as Reward Points plus 1.5% as Happy Coins, giving a total 6.5% value back. However, since there’s no surcharge waiver, you’ll lose 1% to fuel surcharge - bringing your net value back to 5.5%.
The annual fee waiver condition is a bit on the higher side for this card as well. But even if you don’t meet it and end up paying the annual fee, you’ll still get around 5% value back on ₹10,000 monthly fuel spends - which is decent, though lower than the RBL IndianOil XTRA Card and SBI BPCL Octane Card.

If you spend around ₹10,000 or so per month on fuel and can’t get the RBL IndianOil XTRA Card or the SBI BPCL Octane Card, this is still a solid third choice.

Priority Order:
  1. RBL IndianOil XTRA Card
  2. SBI BPCL Octane Card
  3. IDFC FIRST HPCL Power+ Credit Card
[A humble request: If you wish to apply for any credit card from the list, kindly use the link provided here, as it will contribute to supporting our community.]
I believe that, surcharge waiver should not be added as value back because of set off.

IDFC HPCL Surcharge waiver calculation looks good but remaining needs correction.

Doing it since start of upi service in this card. I use it only in verified pump. Most people do not know this. Initially, bank didn't even charged fuel surcharge. Now surcharge applicable. Also, there was unreasonable delay in points credit at initial stages, but they adjusted accordingly. Now, all ok.

Test yourself with small amount in a pump where u r otherwise getting points for using card directly. Don't spread this publicly, else bank might stop this useful feature.
Surcharge on non iocl pumps or even iocl pumps for doing through upi? Otherwise if you use card directly there is no surcharge on iocl pumps.

For this card upi is just an alternate payment method. Everything else remain same. Try once.

Fuel being one of my highest spends in a month, I spend around 8-10k for fuel every month, Still I don't have any fuel card.
I fill petrol mainly from two places - Indian Oil and Jio BP.
In both these places, I use Tata Neu Infinity Rupay UPI scan and I don't get charged any surcharge extra. It is the exact amount of fuel, nothing more.

In Indian Oil, I give my mobile number to add points. And I redeem it once a year after it has reached considerable amount.

In Jio, the fuel price is 1 Rs less than normal price (maybe a limited time offer) and there also I give my number to add points.
Jio's point system is - 1 Happy Coin for 1 liter fuel, and 1 HC = 1 Rs. You can redeem after reaching minimum 250 happy coins.

I wanted to know:
1. Is there any specific card that gives rewards on Jio BP petrol bunks.
2. Which is the easiest to use Indian Oil cards in terms of accumilating coins and redeeming them? In many cases, I have heard that redeeming points is a big headache. Also I have heard that in many fuel cards, they don't add points correctly, we have to keep an eye always.

For this too, minimum 400 should be added to get rewards right?
I have no knowledge on ICICI HPCL card.
------

If anyone is curious about IDFC HPCL Power+ then they can go through this for better clarity.

1. Idfc 150 multiple upto Rs. 12000 per statement cycle.
2. HP Pay app coins per 100 and upto Rs. 10,000 monthly (Max..600 happy coins pm).
3. Surcharge for loading to HP pay wallet is 0.85%.
4. HP pay app rewards 1.5% (usual), or 2.0% (occasional), or 3.0% (rare).
5. IDFC statement rewards 5% (in multiple of 150). Have redemption charges but no expiry of reward points.
6. No additional fuel surcharge in the card statement.

Net rewards will be around 5.5% to 7.0%. (Avg. 6.0%).

Reference:

So you are saying payment at iocl pump via card or upi both will give 20 ER and no surcharge?
I have already told you about the thing that u asking again. Please re-read those posts again.
------
Before I answer that again. I would request you to show some proof that paying fuel directly via axis IOCL credit card do not attract fuel surcharge yet get fuel points. That's rather unusual.

Don't just tell that we get surcharge reversal. That we all already know. Reversal and not charging at all is completely different thing.

I have already told you about the thing that u asking again. Please re-read those posts again.
------
Before I answer that again. I would request you to show some proof that paying fuel directly via axis IOCL credit card do not attract fuel surcharge yet get fuel points. That's rather unusual.

Don't just tell that we get surcharge reversal. That we all already know. Reversal and not charging at all is completely different thing.
Arey bhai, gol gol kyun baat kar rahe ho.. simple jawab do yaar.. if i make payment using upi on iocl pump instead of swiping card will i get 20 er or not? Forget the surcharge.. thank you 🙏

Isse simple jawab kya ho sakta hay?
For this card upi is just an alternate payment method. Everything else remain same. Try once.

I have also told you as detailed as possible based on my experiences in my first reply (to you) itself. Here...
Doing it since start of upi service in this card. I use it only in verified pump.... Initially, bank didn't even charged fuel surcharge. Now surcharge applicable. Also, there was unreasonable delay in points credit at initial stages, but they adjusted accordingly. Now, all ok.

Test yourself with small amount in a pump where u r otherwise getting points for using card directly.....

You only made some confusing remarks without understanding the point. here..

Not only that, later you raised a question based on your wrong observation stating like as if I said this. here...
So you are saying payment at iocl pump via card or upi both will give 20 ER and no surcharge?
No, I didn't said that. (Check 1st reply as quoted again)
-----
So basically, without trying to understand anything you have repeatedly asked same thing that I already told you in my 1st and 2nd reply. You tried to confuse (by saying surcharge free payment using physical card) but in that process you got confused. It's not me. I have clear understanding, any wrong observation by anyone won't change that.

That surcharge free option were only available when paid through upi till May 2024. In fact in May 2024 they gave surcharge rebate without changing the surcharge. Since June 2024, Axis is charging fuel surcharge +GST although they give rebate/reversal surcharge part but don't return GST part. So, now in all payments I get surcharge charged and then reversed partly (excluding tax component). Same applies for both physical or upi payments.

I know some people are so slow in understanding things, that's why I always try to provide info as detailed as possible. Still, some people are so dumb in understanding things. Even if we ask them to test themselves they are not ready to, rather they accuse others for the things for which they themselves are responsible for. I rest my case.

I may not respond you further for the reason I have nothing to add on this matter. Hopefully you will understand this time.