(Small) Success Story - Got Cleartrip to pay 5% amount lost due to wrong MCC !!

Hello Technofinos,

1. Few months back, I read in a thread that SBI Cashback card is not giving cashback for flight bookings done on Cleartrip & other travel sites, as it is categorised as ineligible MCCs.
2. I checked & to my surprise, I found that I was not given cashback for my August flight booking on Cleartrip.
3. SBI customer support told me that since MCC for txn. is Railways, so no cashback was given. I made sure to get this info in writing over mail.
4. Next, I tried reaching Cleartrip support, and as expected no one had any clue what MCC was !! One of their senior supervisors even said "we don't issue MCC to Cleartrip txns." 🤣
5. I understood, noting will happen over phone call so I dropped a mail, to which I received same generic replies. But when I used stronger language and threatened to approach Consumer Forum, they got serious & I started receiving calls asking for more time to resolve the issue.
6. Meanwhile, I also shared the SBI response where they had mentioned that 5% cashback was not given as the MCC was of Railways .
7. This continued for 3-4 months. I was also not very optimistic with this, so I was casually replying / sending reminders.
8. Then finally I received a call today where they admitted their mistake and offered to pay be back 5% amount after I share my bank details. ( Since its more than 6 months, so the amount can't be credited to the source account)

I feel others also try this with and share you response here !!

Hello Technofinos,

1. Few months back, I read in a thread that SBI Cashback card is not giving cashback for flight bookings done on Cleartrip & other travel sites, as it is categorised as ineligible MCCs.
2. I checked & to my surprise, I found that I was not given cashback for my August flight booking on Cleartrip.
3. SBI customer support told me that since MCC for txn. is Railways, so no cashback was given. I made sure to get this info in writing over mail.
4. Next, I tried reaching Cleartrip support, and as expected no one had any clue what MCC was !! One of their senior supervisors even said "we don't issue MCC to Cleartrip txns." 🤣
5. I understood, noting will happen over phone call so I dropped a mail, to which I received same generic replies. But when I used stronger language and threatened to approach Consumer Forum, they got serious & I started receiving calls asking for more time to resolve the issue.
6. Meanwhile, I also shared the SBI response where they had mentioned that 5% cashback was not given as the MCC was of Railways .
7. This continued for 3-4 months. I was also not very optimistic with this, so I was casually replying / sending reminders.
8. Then finally I received a call today where they admitted their mistake and offered to pay be back 5% amount after I share my bank details. ( Since its more than 6 months, so the amount can't be credited to the source account)

I feel others also try this with and share you response here !!
bhai mere apko to 21 topon ki salaami deni chahiye, apne SBI ko daraya hai, aur upar se jeet bhi liya. 😎

Wow, I am surprised that they admitted it. Good to know because Urban Company does the same thing. Their MCC is registered as rental for all their services. I am not a 100% sure what MCC they should be using, but I might follow up with them

Actually last time, i checked with SBI, I was told their mcc is under utility which made sense. I didn't check exact mcc code.

Possibly they are using two different mcc. Using rental may trigger extra charge on some credit cards.