Shadow-Banned by My HDFC Ex-RM or Just Bank Bullsh*t

Not open for further replies.
My 2 cents:

Amazing story, and nicely written up👏🏻🤣

Best would be close all hdfc cards and apply fresh c2c. What's ur current highest limit cc?
Idhar 750k hai, recently applied using normal application through bank, agent sent me whatsapp message to select from 3 of the business cards, they issued me a moneyback visa with 100k limit
Already raised issue of mis-selling with grievance department but they denied upgrade to dcbM

Now going to write to PNO for mis-selling and ask for an upgrade to regalia gold/ dcb metal

Even though i didn't need the business card but now that they have issued a different card then i applied I'll surely complaing about this to rbi O if pno doesn't upgrade me to regalia gold/dcb metal
I am already meeting eligibility criteria of regalia gold but grievance people declined saying ask for an upgrade after 6 months

Had to activate moneyback + visa else it would have automatically closed and i would be left without a hdfc cc for 6 months or forever because they declined my applications twice before this when i applied manually and didn't provide rejection reason

Idhar 750k hai, recently applied using normal application through bank, agent sent me whatsapp message to select from 3 of the business cards, they issued me a moneyback visa with 100k limit
Already raised issue of mis-selling with grievance department but they denied upgrade to dcbM

Now going to write to PNO for mis-selling and ask for an upgrade to regalia gold/ dcb metal

Even though i didn't need the business card but now that they have issued a different card then i applied I'll surely complaing about this to rbi O if pno doesn't upgrade me to regalia gold/dcb metal
I am already meeting eligibility criteria of regalia gold but grievance people declined saying ask for an upgrade after 6 months

Had to activate moneyback + visa else it would have automatically closed and i would be left without a hdfc cc for 6 months or forever because they declined my applications twice before this when i applied manually and didn't provide rejection reason
@SJM do you think I'll be having a strong case with RBIO ?

Reactions: SJM

What exactly is your complaint?

Card Portfolio for Context
  1. Axis Bank - Neo (LTF) & Airtel (Paid) - Rs. 4,00,000 combined.
  2. Federal Bank - Imperio (LTF) - Rs. 1,86,000
  3. HDFC Bank - Millennia (Paid) + Swiggy (LTF) + Tata Neu Plus Rupay (LTF) - Rs. 1,00,000 combined.
  4. ICICI Bank A-Pay (LTF) - Rs. 3,40,000
  5. IDFC First Bank - Select (LTF) - Rs. 3,00,000.
  6. Kotak Mahindra Bank - Zen Signature (LTF) - Rs. 42,000
  7. SBI Cashback (Paid) - Rs. 20,000
I’m stuck in a frustrating loop with HDFC Bank and could use some wisdom from this community. I’ve got three HDFC cards: Millennia (paid), Swiggy (LTF), and Tata Neu Plus RuPay (LTF), with a combined credit limit of 1 lakh. Sounds decent, but it’s choking me, and HDFC’s refusal to budge on a limit increase is driving me up the wall.

It all started in May 2022 with an IndiGo 6E Rewards card, limit 25k. For two years, I begged the Chennai office for an upgrade, sending emails and couriers like I was auditioning for a persistence award. Finally, in May 2024, they threw me a bone: upgraded me to Millennia and bumped my limit to 1 lakh. Fast forward to now, May 2025, and I’m still capped at 1 lakh across all three cards. In the past year, I’ve spent over 3.5 lakhs on these cards, hitting the spend milestones for Millennia and Swiggy cards. I’m not defaulting, paying on time, and my CIBIL score’s a solid 777. So why the hell won’t HDFC increase my limit?

I’ve requested a limit enhancement twice since May 2024, sending two or three couriers to the Chennai office (wasting good money on postage). Each time, I get a vague “internal policy” rejection with zero explanation. It’s like talking to a brick wall (named Bhanu Rekha) that occasionally emails you. I’m starting to wonder if my account’s been shadow-banned or flagged. Here’s where it gets spicy: I had a bit of a spat with my old RM a while back. He’s now some credit risk officer in my city (thanks, LinkedIn stalking). Could he be screwing with my profile? Do RMs or credit officers even have that kind of power to mark an account as risky or block limit increases? Or am I just paranoid?

I’ve emailed the Principal Nodal Officer, the Priority Address Desk, you name it. No dice. I’ve got my salary slips ready, a great track record, and a portfolio of other cards with way better limits (SBI’s an exception, those guys are a mystery, & Kotak’s in another league). This 1 lakh limit is a joke for my spending needs. Just yesterday, I wanted to buy home appliances worth 1.5 lakhs, lured by HDFC’s offers and cashback. But my limit laughed in my face, and I had to pass. Plus, my credit utilisation ratio is creeping up, which isn’t doing my CIBIL any favors long-term.

So, here’s what I’m dying to know:
  1. Why is HDFC stonewalling me? Is there something specific they’re not telling me? Has anyone else been stuck like this?
  2. Are there RBI guidelines that force banks to justify limit increase denials or ensure fair evaluation? Can I appeal to the Banking Ombudsman over this, or is it just HDFC’s internal policy playground?
  3. Has anyone successfully escalated to an “MD Desk” or some higher-up? I read a thread here about someone getting an Infinia issue resolved by emailing an MD Desk. Does that even exist, and if so, what’s the contact?
  4. Could my old RM-turned-credit-risk-officer actually be tanking my requests? How do I check if my account’s flagged?
  5. Any pro tips to get HDFC to take my limit enhancement seriously? I’m not chasing a 500-rupee bump I need a significant increase to match my spending (3.5 lakhs in a year should count for something).
Please drop your advice. If you’ve got stories of fighting HDFC, I’m all ears.

@SJM @Vasuki @SSV @D₹V @helloworld @Tejo @sidp @Abhishek012 @BVC @HumorSimpson @Zacobite @vine @NShah @CMG @RAMESH BABU N @SpiesCan'tCatchMe @vaibhav111 @Strange @saver-user @Pissant @Rkr @hender @2025 @TechnoFino @Wealth is my birth right! @jack333 @Subhankar @4uziaul @drsel @Sriim @007 @Aniket @Fini7777 @Anindya98 @Batmanbaba @6ix9ine @Bodhi @keerthirahul123
ITR of last year? ITR is everything believe with hdfc they give you limit increase with or without spend very little that 5-7years ago, so the reason you started with 25k is the reason issue it should been some 2L at least, in your cibil any homeloan, car loan plus other bank cc limit is also not great, anything above 5L on every several expect SBI and Public bank they all do good limit, increase your ITR and see the magic if nor your salary and your cibil have something to do.

What proof does he have? Is the agent an HDFC employee or authorized HDFC agent?

Since he applied offline, does he have a copy of the application form in which one of those 3 cards is ticked?
भावनाओं से खेलने वालों को बक्शा नहीं जाना चाहिए।
That's the point ☝️ 😉

What exactly is your complaint?
I applied for biz grow but bank issued me a moneyback visa (while applying and selecting biz grow i wished there was a standard card but still it's a good enough reason for a complaint because i got something else than i applied for, hence misselling)

What proof does he have? Is the agent an HDFC employee or authorized HDFC agent?

Since he applied offline, does he have a copy of the application form in which one of those 3 cards is ticked?
Bank employee shared option of cards on my WhatsApp and i chose biz power from them,I visited my local branch, the cc girl their applied the card
Nowadays if you apply offline, some banks (maybe all) mails you scanned copy of your filled in application form. Do you have it? If yes, which card variant is ticked in the form?
Didn't get anything of that sort from hdfc

I applied for biz grow but bank issued me a moneyback visa (while applying and selecting biz grow i wished there was a standard card but still it's a good enough reason for a complaint because i got something else than i applied for, hence misselling)

Bank employee shared option of cards on my WhatsApp and i chose biz power from them,I visited my local branch, the cc girl their applied the card

If you don't have any proof, how will you prove that you are scammed?

Where is your proof that you applied for biz grow? I am not saying you didn't, but you cannot raise a complaint without any proof. Whatsapp chats with an agent will not be considered as proof.

Your best bet, ask HDFC customer care to send you a copy of your application form. If you get it and see biz grow is ticked, you have a case.

Not open for further replies.