SBI CARD UPGRADING PROCESS via APP.

sonuJai

🔍 SBI Credit Card Upgrade:
I received an offer from SBI SIMPLY SAVE TO PRIME Card upgrade, my earlier card has annual fee date Nov 3. Last year Ipaid fee 499 GST at 3 NOV 2024 & immediately got reversal of 499 due to fee waived as 1L+ transactions.

Now, I'm planning to upgrade from SBI SimplySAVE to SBI PRIME (RuPay) via the official SBI Card app. Before I proceed, I have several doubts that I hope community members can help clarify:

📌 Card & Billing Related Queries

1. If I upgrade now (July 2025), will I be charged both the ₹2,999 joining fee and ₹2,999 annual fee within a short span (e.g. 3–4 months)? As my annual fee date is Nov 2024.

2. Will my old SimplySAVE card’s annual fee cycle still apply after upgrade, or does it reset to a new cycle?

3. What’s the exact billing logic: Is joining fee charged at upgrade time, or at next renewal date (e.g., October or November)?

4. If I upgraded in July 2025, will the ₹3L annual spend required for fee waiver count from July 2025–November 2025 OR. July 2025– November 2026?

đź’ł Fee Cycle Confusion

5. Will I be double-charged: one for the upgrade (joining fee) and another for regular annual renewal in a few months? Eg in 2025 [July -NOV]

6. Will I have to meet the ₹3L spend within 3 months if I upgrade now, or is it better to wait till original anniversary month as it will fresh counting?

🎯 Strategic Planning

12. Is it better to wait till the original anniversary month (November 2025) to upgrade and avoid double fees?

14. Basically after CARD Upgrading how JOINING/ RENEAL FEE CYCLE WORKS ?

Let me know if you've faced similar issues or have clarity from personal experience.
Thanks in advance to the community 🙏

I have recently upgraded my sbi simplysave to sbi prime card . They will charge Annual fees as per your first ( Simply Save card ) date only and the worst part is they will only consider spend of prime card during that time period . By the way they provide 3000 voucher after charging annual fees .

There is no joining fee in my and Maximum upgradation CASES .

annual fee = in sbi terms, joining fee
renewal fee = in sbi terms, renewal fee / annual fee

dont be confused that annual fee and renewal fee same, they’re not in sbicard.

new upgraded card annual fee will be billed Nov (as per old card date).

new upgraded card milestone will be billed July (as per new card date).

btw, advise: prime is not ok card even, there is no need to upgrade to it. simplyclick way better.

annual fee = in sbi terms, joining fee
renewal fee = in sbi terms, renewal fee / annual fee

dont be confused that annual fee and renewal fee same, they’re not in sbicard.

new upgraded card annual fee will be billed Nov (as per old card date).

new upgraded card milestone will be billed July (as per new card date).

btw, advise: prime is not ok card even, there is no need to upgrade to it. simplyclick way better.
Thank you soo much for the deatil info.....

The case is I have Simply save and i have spent almost 2.29L till july since last year so comparatively on spending very less rewards. Applied for SBI CASHBACK as well as SBI BPCL OCTANE both Rejected so my main purpose is to upgrade in premium category then get SBI CB or OCTANE later as I got to know premium tier card increases approval forother CCs.
( kindly please your view on how true it is?) Only this reason I was considering upgrade

But now as per your info its almost impossible to spent 3L in 3 months so looks difficult and paying almost 7k as fee is too hefty as well.

Thanks a lot for clear details 🙏

I have recently upgraded my sbi simplysave to sbi prime card . They will charge Annual fees as per your first ( Simply Save card ) date only and the worst part is they will only consider spend of prime card during that time period . By the way they provide 3000 voucher after charging annual fees .

There is no joining fee in my and Maximum upgradation CASES .
No joining fee didn’t git do you mean after Voucher deductions? Or no joining and only annual fee?

If you brief like how much you charged after upgradition within your CARDS Annual Billing cycle.

Thank you soo much for the deatil info.....

The case is I have Simply save and i have spent almost 2.29L till july since last year so comparatively on spending very less rewards. Applied for SBI CASHBACK as well as SBI BPCL OCTANE both Rejected so my main purpose is to upgrade in premium category then get SBI CB or OCTANE later as I got to know premium tier card increases approval forother CCs.
( kindly please your view on how true it is?) Only this reason I was considering upgrade

But now as per your info its almost impossible to spent 3L in 3 months so looks difficult and paying almost 7k as fee is too hefty as well.

Thanks a lot for clear details 🙏

u dont need to spend, afair based on last time conversion this upgrade is fyf or till renewal its free. check tncs or share it once.