• Hey there! Welcome to TFC! View fewer ads on the website just by signing up on TF Community.

RBI New Proposed Guidelines for Card Networks: Empowering Customers and Promoting Choice in Card Networks

hritiksakshi

TF Premier
VIP Lounge
Please excuse me for being a noob here, but have two queries in relation to this.

I understand the part where the banks have to provide options for card network...say a regalia card can be issued on master/visa or rupay...now customer will have the choice to switch to his/her preferred network
1) when issuer itself is the network say like amex, how will this circular work? Will rbi mandate amex to launch cards on other networks.

2) the draft also notifies that banks shouldn't enter exclusive arrangement with any network, but in case of hdfc, the whole diners partnership is based on that.
So it means now for diners black , hdfc cannot continue the exclusive partnership?

@TechnoFino da pls answer

TechnoFino

Founder
TF Family
Founder
Admin
Please excuse me for being a noob here, but have two queries in relation to this.

I understand the part where the banks have to provide options for card network...say a regalia card can be issued on master/visa or rupay...now customer will have the choice to switch to his/her preferred network
1) when issuer itself is the network say like amex, how will this circular work? Will rbi mandate amex to launch cards on other networks.
answer: https://www.technofino.in/community...etwork-changes-explained-with-examples.18582/
2) the draft also notifies that banks shouldn't enter exclusive arrangement with any network, but in case of hdfc, the whole diners partnership is based on that.
So it means now for diners black , hdfc cannot continue the exclusive partnership?

@TechnoFino da pls answer