Need Advice on Card Portfolio (Monthly Spend 1.5-2L)

Avijeet

Dear All,

Here is the list of unique cards that I manage (Me & My Spouse)
Our Monthly Spend is 1.5-2L

• AXIS ACE
  • AXIS FLIPKART
  • AXIS FREECHARGE
  • AXIS MAGNUS + MAGNUS (Wife's)
  • CITI INDIAN OIL (LTF)
  • HDFC MILLENNIA
  • HDFC REGALIA (LTF) HDFC INFINIA METAL
  • ICICI AMAZON (LTF)
  • IDFC FIRST SELECT (LTF)
  • INDUSIND EAZYDINER
  • INDUSIND LEGEND (LTF)
  • ONE CARD (LTF)
  • SBI CASHBACK (FYF)
  • SBI CLICK
  • SBI TATA
  • STAN. CHART MANHATTAN
  • SLICE CARD
I need expert advice to make the portfolio a little more sleek and valuable.

Here is the plan in my mind... please suggest if I am doing anything wrong...

CARDS FOR CLOSURE
  • AXIS FLIPKART
  • AXIS FREECHARGE
  • CITI INDIAN OIL
  • SBI CLICK
  • SBI TATA
  • STAN. CHART MANHATTAN
CARDS FOR UPGRADATION
  • HDFC REGALIA to INFINIA (GOT INFINIA)
  • MANHATTAN to ULTIMATE (THINKING)
NEW CARD (YET TO APPLY)
  • AMEX GOLD + MRCC (AS COMPANION CARD)
  • AXIS RESERVE (NOT SURE)
  • NEED 1 GOOD SBI CARD
  • OPEN FOR SUGGESTION

Another plan is to apply MAGNUS on my spouse's name and just try to make 1L each ....

I mean I don't know ... what would be the best combination ....

Looking forward to your valuable suggestions ....

Gautham

Dear All,

• AXIS ACE
  • AXIS FLIPKART
  • AXIS FREECHARGE
  • AXIS MAGNUS
  • CITI INDIAN OIL (LTF)
  • HDFC MILLENNIA
  • HDFC REGALIA (LTF)
  • ICICI AMAZON (LTF)
  • INDUSIND EAZYDINER
  • INDUSIND LEGEND (LTF)
  • ONE CARD (LTF)
  • SBI CASHBACK (FYF)
  • SBI CLICK
  • SBI TATA
  • STAN. CHART MANHATTAN
  • SLICE CARD

CARDS FOR CLOSURE
  • AXIS FLIPKART
  • AXIS FREECHARGE
  • CITI INDIAN OIL
  • SBI CLICK
  • SBI TATA
  • STAN. CHART MANHATTAN
CARDS FOR UPGRADATION
  • HDFC REGALIA to INFINIA (UNDER PROCESS)
NEW CARD (YET TO APPLY)
  • NEED 1 GOOD SBI CARD
  • OPEN FOR SUGGESTION

Another plan is to apply MAGNUS on my spouse's name and just try to make 1L each ....

Please dont close Flipkart card. it's too precious during sales

Gautham

I have very well said the reason as well. Flipkart card gives 13% discount (it sometime gives 15% as well) during sale with Axis bank offers. plus it gives 1.5% cashback for offline transactions. you never know when devaluation or max cb cap will hit for sbi cashback card. Moreover it just costs 590/year but has huge upside.

AshishR

you have not mentioned where your 2L spends go,
how can someone give u advice blindly :ROFLMAO:

but without knowing that:

Take amex plat travel, amex mrcc, amex gold charge, axis magnus ... use all expenses in these untill the milesstone for month reached

then use rest on coming up infinia card

and dont upgrade to scb ultimate, u dont need it when u have standby infinia

AshishR

I have very well said the reason as well. Flipkart card gives 13% discount (it sometime gives 15% as well) during sale with Axis bank offers. plus it gives 1.5% cashback for offline transactions. you never know when devaluation or max cb cap will hit for sbi cashback card. Moreover it just costs 590/year but has huge upside.
may be hes not flipkart user, if thats the case, this card isnt that great for him if he has infinia , magnus and amex cards

Card noob

Also don't close Citi now, can remove later just before axis takeover...
Axis fk I would say keep it for 1 more year waiting for the deval of the magnus, also try mailing it for LTF
If into traveling can get sbi vistara prime else keep simplyclick

aditya001

Dear All,

• AXIS ACE
  • AXIS FLIPKART
  • AXIS FREECHARGE
  • AXIS MAGNUS
  • CITI INDIAN OIL (LTF)
  • HDFC MILLENNIA
  • HDFC REGALIA (LTF)
  • ICICI AMAZON (LTF)
  • INDUSIND EAZYDINER
  • INDUSIND LEGEND (LTF)
  • ONE CARD (LTF)
  • SBI CASHBACK (FYF)
  • SBI CLICK
  • SBI TATA
  • STAN. CHART MANHATTAN
  • SLICE CARD

CARDS FOR CLOSURE
  • AXIS FLIPKART
  • AXIS FREECHARGE
  • CITI INDIAN OIL
  • SBI CLICK
  • SBI TATA
  • STAN. CHART MANHATTAN
CARDS FOR UPGRADATION
  • HDFC REGALIA to INFINIA (UNDER PROCESS)
NEW CARD (YET TO APPLY)
  • NEED 1 GOOD SBI CARD
  • OPEN FOR SUGGESTION

This is a general recommendation as i don't know where specifically you are spending

Two Magnus will simply give best reward rate, if you manage 2 lakh spends per month you will be getting reward points worth 48000. nothing can beat that.. But get infinia for sure, You get points that is equal to annual charges so why not have it.. also we don't know
when the magnus will be devalued so infinia as a backup should be must..

Amex - cards are good for the milestone so can get it for that, but for gold charge 2nd fee is 4500+ tax so be aware of that while applying.

Axis Reserve - I would not recommend axis reserve as of now.. You can apply it in future if magnus gets devalued.. Because your annual fee will not get recovered by points, 50k welcome points can be converted to 40k miles but i don't think so its worth it..

If you are looking for luxury benefits of reserve (In general) then i would recommend just go for amex plat charge.. Its way more prestigious card then reserve.. If you have any specific feature in mind for applying reserve then its fine..

But even for Plat charge wait for 100k points welcome bonus, those hotel voucher as welcome benefit that they are giving currently is just nonsense.. it has many downsides.

Sbi card - Just get the cash back card.. Its the best one card to have from sbi.. + also get one other Sbi card which ever you want.. Aurum for first year is also good deal. You can later transfer Aurum limit to Sbi cashback and close the aurum.. as sbi card always have limit issues this will increase you sbi cashback card limit.

Now about other cards.. If you have any specific thing in mind then you should keep them.. But before closing any card ask them for LTF.

Avijeet

you have not mentioned where your 2L spends go,
how can someone give u advice blindly :ROFLMAO:

but without knowing that:

Take amex plat travel, amex mrcc, amex gold charge, axis magnus ... use all expenses in these untill the milesstone for month reached

then use rest on coming up infinia card

and dont upgrade to scb ultimate, u dont need it when u have standby infinia

Hey @AshishR .... Thanks for your blind advice :cool:...

Here are my major exp. heads....

Utility Bills (Personal, Rental & Business)
Personal & Business Travelling Expenses (Flight, Hotels, Dine, Fuel Etc)
Household Exp (Groceries, Maintenance, Society Fee)
Lifestyle Expenses (Dine, Shopping & Entertainment)
Insurance & NPS..
School Fees..
Etc... Etc.....
Not even a single penny in MS so far ....

AshishR

Hey @AshishR .... Thanks for your blind advice :cool:...

Here are my major exp. heads....

Utility Bills (Personal, Rental & Business)
Personal & Business Travelling Expenses (Flight, Hotels, Dine, Fuel Etc)
Household Exp (Groceries, Maintenance, Society Fee)
Lifestyle Expenses (Dine, Shopping & Entertainment)
Insurance & NPS..
School Fees..
Etc... Etc.....
Not even a single penny in MS so far ....
Utility Bills (Personal, Rental & Business). Airtel axis, axis ace
Personal & Business Travelling Expenses (Flight, Hotels, Dine, Fuel Etc) infinia, Magnus , Amex plat
Household Exp (Groceries, Maintenance, Society Fee) scb Manhattan, axis airtel
Lifestyle Expenses (Dine, Shopping & Entertainment) IndusInd eazydiner, axis Magnus, infinia
Insurance & NPS.. infinia, Magnus, Amex
School Fees.. infinia, Magnus, Amex

Close axis free charge, Flipkart, get Airtel axis if u have Airtel sim
Close sbi Tata if it chargeable

22tarush

• Citi Indian Oil is LTF, don't close it IMO.
• Close the Slice card. not worth it anymore.
• Amex ryt now isn't issuing Companion cards.
• SBI doesn't have a very gd card, so keep the SBI Click as the fees are low and come in handy during sale. (SBI CB is a gd one but SBI now isn't issuing it to people already holding their card)
• For 1L spend Magnus would be the best option and for above spends Infinia would cover you.

* best option differs from person to person and spends to spends and the way you're gonna be redeeming your points.

Avijeet

This is a general recommendation as i don't know where specifically you are spending

Two Magnus will simply give best reward rate, if you manage 2 lakh spends per month you will be getting reward points worth 48000. nothing can beat that.. But get infinia for sure, You get points that is equal to annual charges so why not have it.. also we don't know
when the magnus will be devalued so infinia as a backup should be must..

Amex - cards are good for the milestone so can get it for that, but for gold charge 2nd fee is 4500+ tax so be aware of that while applying.

Axis Reserve - I would not recommend axis reserve as of now.. You can apply it in future if magnus gets devalued.. Because your annual fee will not get recovered by points, 50k welcome points can be converted to 40k miles but i don't think so its worth it..

If you are looking for luxury benefits of reserve (In general) then i would recommend just go for amex plat charge.. Its way more prestigious card then reserve.. If you have any specific feature in mind for applying reserve then its fine..

But even for Plat charge wait for 100k points welcome bonus, those hotel voucher as welcome benefit that they are giving currently is just nonsense.. it has many downsides.

Sbi card - Just get the cash back card.. Its the best one card to have from sbi.. + also get one other Sbi card which ever you want.. Aurum for first year is also good deal. You can later transfer Aurum limit to Sbi cashback and close the aurum.. as sbi card always have limit issues this will increase you sbi cashback card limit.

Now about other cards.. If you have any specific thing in mind then you should keep them.. But before closing any card ask them for LTF.
Thanks a ton ... I have noted down every point and tip that you have given ...

Magnus devaluation is inevitable .... so keeping other options ready is a good idea ... thanks ....

Aurum.. I will give it a look .... Already have SBI Cashback+SimplyClick and cramping for limit ...

Yes will ask to make LTF before closing ....

Thanks again 🙏

Avijeet

PLAN from 1st Dec 2022
1. Use Magnus1 till 1L
2. Magnus2 from 1L to 2L
3. INFINIA beyond 2L Offline
4. SBI Cashback Card beyond 2L Online

I think this should do ....

any suggestion?