Insightful thread as usual. Tracking net worth is good for financial progress, discipline and growth.
Like the financial experts say, there are 3-4 pillars of personal finance - risk, returns, liquidity, and tax.
Risk is invisible. Only when it occurs we know it existed. (There are more things to explain here)
Returns is what everyone chases. People want more returns because they don't have enough capital and time. For corpus to grow, it needs capital and time.
Liquidity is important when we need money. If we cannot sell our investment at the time of need, it is as good as useless.
Taxes and death are unavoidable. Govt will eat 33% of our money whether we like it or not.
Liquid net worth helps us to boost our ego and confidence, thinking that we are not a silly person.
But it also helps to realize where we stand.
If everything comes to zero on one fine morning, how far can we go forward? That is decided by net worth.
Quality of life and things we use in life improve on a daily basis. We always need to move up, progress, grow.
We need to upgrade our cars, phone, washing machines, fridge, TV, house, scooter, clothes, chappal, food, entertainment and what not.
We cannot use the same thing for 40-50 years. Everything needs repair, maintenance, service. Everything needs money.
Money can solve all problems in life. There are no problems that money cannot solve in life.
Money is not the problem, but people don't know how to use money effectively.
India is a country where we cannot trust data at all. Less than 10% people have PAN and file ITR. More than 70% ITRs are NIL taxable income.
Almost 100 crore don't even file ITR so it is a black hole. Corruption still exists rampantly in our country sadly.
So whatever data we see is only of the minority.
Coming to the topic, as of today, we can live off with our investments for the rest of our lives IF there are no changes to the existing lifestyle.
But like I told above, we always need to improve and upgrade. Getting a new good car itself will cost around 15L and that kind of pushes you back.
So I would say keep earning income as long as possible. And make a plan so that you don't stop abruptly on one day.
Let there be small streams of money flowing in from different sources. Don't depend on one income alone.
Getting a livelihood from stockmarket is near to impossible for majority of the people. There may be people earning lakhs and crores from trading.
But that is only a minority. For a normal person, long term investments are good enough to be successful.
Liquidity is very important. It is OK to buy land, flat, apartment, villas, build house or whatever, but that should not stop you from having a big corpus in liquid assets like bank FD, provident funds, mutual funds, stocks etc.
I don't know if I answered the question asked in the post, but I just scribbled some of my thoughts. Sorry to go off topic.