Latest - December 2024 - Card to use for high value utility payments?

As things keep changing in the credit card world, I'm starting a new thread to seek guidance on the latest way to pay high value utility (assume electricity) bills (say 1 lakh + only), so amazon vouchers is out. Questions:
1) Is there any card left that will give reward points on these payments?
2) If there is not, is there any card we can make these payments with, without incurring a fee as most cards now charge a fee to pay utility bills above a certain amount?

Amex Gold is an option but there is a fear of getting flagged for missuse if we do multiple high value transactions in a month.

As things keep changing in the credit card world, I'm starting a new thread to seek guidance on the latest way to pay high value utility (assume electricity) bills (say 1 lakh + only), so amazon vouchers is out. Questions:
2) If there is not, is there any card we can make these payments with, without incurring a fee as most cards now charge a fee to pay utility bills above a certain amount?

Amex Gold is an option but there is a fear of getting flagged for missuse if we do multiple high value transactions in a month.
1. You are contradicting your own statements.

2. You know everything but are still asking for ways.

3. How will you manage the ITD pro
blems?

1) How did I contradict?
2) I am humble, so do not claim to know "everything", hence asking on the forum.
3) If everything is legit, then this is not a problem.

Well I have paid for over 5 years with multiple banks and never faced any issue - so there you go. Why argue on something that you do not have full information on and stick to the purpose I created this thread for?

Thanks for your inputs on Utility MCC being "almost dead". I am interested to know the almost part - the purpose of this thread.

Well I have paid for over 5 years with multiple banks and never faced any issue - so there you go. Why argue on something that you do not have full information on and stick to the purpose I created this thread for?

Thanks for your inputs on Utility MCC being "almost dead". I am interested to know the almost part - the purpose of this thread.
Gone are the days 5 yrs ago. Enjoy till notice.

Reactions: drk
I have a 10 bedroom mansion and keep all the air conditioners running for 24 hours. And in the winter I have the whole house centrally heated. I also own 5 of these mansions, so its 5 times.
Therefore, its personal spends.
Nice to see ur Mr Khanna🙂 but u know mr khanna any electricity board in whole india gives connection on Kyc+ land papers. Along with that, every connection has the owner/company name listed.

Do u really think, SSC CGL guys are playing ludo.....

I have a 10 bedroom mansion and keep all the air conditioners running for 24 hours. And in the winter I have the whole house centrally heated. I also own 5 of these mansions, so its 5 times.
Therefore, its personal spends.
what is being done in the mansion house is matters.. You might be the owner of it so you are paying bills.. so can not cal it personal spends..
looks like it is commercial property so it will come under business spends.

Thank you for your advice in my personal matters. ( I have Amex Plat Charge - it does not give any reward points)
If anyone has any thoughts on the purpose of the thread, feel free to comment.

lndusind credit cards give minimal RPs (0.7RP/Rs.100/-) for utility bill payments. It's having something better than nothing. kindly follow the link given below.
https://www.indusind.com/in/en/personal/revision-indusInd-bank-credit-card-rewards-program.html

I guess on Tata Neu, you can pay utility bills till Rs 50000 without any additional charge plus you get to earn up to 2000 Tata Neu coins on utility (that's the limit i guess not sure if anything has changed).

Also, I guess you can pay Utility Bills on Amazon till Rs 50000 without any restriction.

Further, you get charged 1.18% with GST on Apay ICICI if your bill payment is beyond Rs 20000 in a month. So, here you're covered till Rs 20000.

For the rest 30000, i guess you can still use Amazon Pay Gift Cards, now Apay Gift Card has a restriction of Rs 10000 per transaction, Rs 30000 in a month and Rs 50000 in 90 days. So, what you can do is buy Apay Gift Cards through Apay ICICI (2% Cashback) for Rs 15000 / Rs 20000 in a month (for a safer side, do two transactions of Rs 10000 each or Rs 5000 in one and Rs 10000 in other in a gap of 5-10 days) and for the rest Rs 15000 / Rs 10000 gift card, use Amex Gyftr Portal / SBI Gyftr Portal / HDFC Smartbuy Gyftr portal or a combination of all 3 and then you can use the Apay vouchers to pay the rest Rs 30000 bill without any convenience fee (you'll be able to gather some cashback or valueback from these).

Or you can also optimize it with Ace Credit Card where you can spend upto Rs 10000 on Google Pay and get 5% cashback and spend the rest through the above method.

I don't know if any of the above T&C has changed, but I'm speaking out of my limited knowledge on the utilities section. Hope this helps.