Flaunt your Amex MR Points balance

• Thread starter Thread starter codenerd
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 30
  • Views Views 2K
Ek hafta hua hai Bhai mile... Koi referral bhi nahi liya abhi Tak.
Sed lyf 🥲 (I wrote lyf, my autocorrect changed it to LTF)
Arre bhai bhai!!! Mera toh already 10K MR already aur pipeline me hai.. Maybe 2 week me milega..You will also enjoy referral bonus soon! Good luck.

Untitled.png
Redeemed ~68k last month for the first time ever after almost 8+ years - so was originally at 273k approx. Used mostly for Marriott bookings. Now once have redeemed some, have come to realize that RPs are take a long time to earn (and hence hard to get in the acct) but they get easily used up during a trip. To add to that Amex being so less available in usage in general (even for wallet loads), makes it more difficult.

Axis Magnus earns and redeems are much more lighter on the psyche as the 25k/mth and 5:4 really makes one that Axis is far more equitable than anyone else out there.

What is the secret for such high points? I only have the monthly milestones on MRCC fetching me 2k points every month.
Started in Dec 2022 and have 14k points now.
Not even a single referral yet 🙁

Could someone give me some insights here, I do not see clear picture for a long time (and why people praising 5x rewards through multiplier?)

Ex: Suppose I have Gold charge card (and this whole below assumption, user doesn't refer anyone)

6x 1000 in a month gives 1000 bonus MR points
and if I assume (well, there are hardly any good brand vouchers at reward multiplier but sometimes on and off) that user purchased 'amzn' vouchers using 5x.

6000 = 600 regular MR + 1000 bonus MR = 1600 MR

welll there are some voucher options in 18k, 24k - If I ignore Taj (just like that) apprx. I can get 1MR = 0.40p

So, every month I can get 1600*0.4 = 640Rs. = 10.6% (very look nice) = 7,680 (total annual cashback equivalent) // 5,376 (if I didn't use 5x multiplier)

So far it looks good and best in class but the problem is

Annual fee: 5,310 (incl. GST)

Now, I heard some stories from several users and none of them said they completely waived off, so possible options
- Spend more within given time
- Redeem some MR points for annual fee
- Pay the annual fee

Suppose (in some imaginary condition) if I receive 5K points for paying (which is not guaranteed and chances are very slim if one spend only 72,000 on this card), anyway that makes the whole reward rate is 6% (if spends are 5x multiplier) or ~3% (if spends other places 1x)

Is my assumption, right?

Regarding whole praising offers, I can only see EMI offers (not against it but why only EMI?) and some irresistable offers like 23 MR points for 100 but have to purchase through reward multiplier where I do not see any good brands.

Maybe AMEX not for me, but could someone light up on benefits you're getting on AMEX because you're accumulated points and it must be giving some benefits to you.

Note: Based on cards from this list MRCC, SmartEarn (even less because 2x), Plt Travel, Gold Charge.

I'm not getting why people talking so much for 6% (that happens only when things went as planned) or is it because of referral benefits only? or did I miss something?
Agree with your points

I’m using AMEX MRCC only for first year since it’s free through referral. I use it just for loading 1500*4 transactions to buy Amazon gift card. And some points I got from referral and joining benefit.

After doing some calculation reward rate was becoming 10%. But considering some transactions will be greater than 1500, reward rate would still be 7-8%. Which is good imo.

Even if I continue this card in next year, the fees will only be 750+GST (1500/2 as I’ll easily be able to spend 90k and previous year and the fees will be halved). The reward rate would still be 4-5%.

You must’ve bought jewellery and/or electronics. If yes, did you end up getting more discount in points value as compared to CC specific bank offers ?
No, never bought jewelry in my life. Mostly travel bookings on MMT for the rewards multiplier. Yeah not much value compared to infinia rewards. Became aware of the 25k/month capping only much later. After I bought a business class ticket for 6L About 15k regular mr. 5x would have been another 60k but will get only 25k due to capping.

Is this RM cap of 25k rewards per card or per account?
I have 2 Amex cards that’s why asking

What is the secret for such high points? I only have the monthly milestones on MRCC fetching me 2k points every month.
Started in Dec 2022 and have 14k points now.
Not even a single referral yet 🙁
Accumulated over may years. As a matter of fact almost 1 lakh points came in the last one month due to Plat card issuance for which there is the high fees that everyone pays. And ya, I dont have a single referral till now. Its all organic increase only except the last 1L.

Could someone give me some insights here, I do not see clear picture for a long time (and why people praising 5x rewards through multiplier?)

Ex: Suppose I have Gold charge card (and this whole below assumption, user doesn't refer anyone)

6x 1000 in a month gives 1000 bonus MR points
and if I assume (well, there are hardly any good brand vouchers at reward multiplier but sometimes on and off) that user purchased 'amzn' vouchers using 5x.

6000 = 600 regular MR + 1000 bonus MR = 1600 MR

welll there are some voucher options in 18k, 24k - If I ignore Taj (just like that) apprx. I can get 1MR = 0.40p

So, every month I can get 1600*0.4 = 640Rs. = 10.6% (very look nice) = 7,680 (total annual cashback equivalent) // 5,376 (if I didn't use 5x multiplier)

So far it looks good and best in class but the problem is

Annual fee: 5,310 (incl. GST)

Now, I heard some stories from several users and none of them said they completely waived off, so possible options
- Spend more within given time
- Redeem some MR points for annual fee
- Pay the annual fee

Suppose (in some imaginary condition) if I receive 5K points for paying (which is not guaranteed and chances are very slim if one spend only 72,000 on this card), anyway that makes the whole reward rate is 6% (if spends are 5x multiplier) or ~3% (if spends other places 1x)

Is my assumption, right?

Regarding whole praising offers, I can only see EMI offers (not against it but why only EMI?) and some irresistable offers like 23 MR points for 100 but have to purchase through reward multiplier where I do not see any good brands.

Maybe AMEX not for me, but could someone light up on benefits you're getting on AMEX because you're accumulated points and it must be giving some benefits to you.

Note: Based on cards from this list MRCC, SmartEarn (even less because 2x), Plt Travel, Gold Charge.

I'm not getting why people talking so much for 6% (that happens only when things went as planned) or is it because of referral benefits only? or did I miss something?
I feel as @TechnoFino rightly says not all cards are for everyone. For my Amex Gold for all these years I just did the 1k points per month. Sometimes may have used a bit more but not always. In these 8 odd years, may have paid the fees I think 4-5/8 times - 3-4 times I requested for a waiver and got it. For me it was about having a Charge card and not just the rewards % or these calculations. Even though I did have the Taj redemption never used it under the gold collection. Maybe I was lazy or thought I'll use the points later.

Now because of an international travel with family my decision did help as I could redeem these points gave me equivalent 1:1 for Mariott. This has been useful. One can def. argue if waiting for so long with so many pts makes nay sense. It is diff. strokes for diff folks. Hence one should evaluate that diligently before going for a new CC.

I'm not sure. I would expect per card. Its 25k per month anyways.
Thanks . Never knew about the 25k cap (not that I would even breach it) but seems unlike Amex to do this. Is it captured somewhere in their T&Cs.