DCB DCB Upgrade worth it ⁉️ - ( With Data )

knight

Hi folks,

I've been reviewing my recent spends to see if it makes sense to upgrade or add new credit cards for better value. I'd appreciate your views on this.

Goal:

Derive good value from my spends while keeping things simple — I’m okay managing 2–3 cards and doing some tracking.

With the current market, Infinia seems like a decent long-term target. I’m also open to cards like Amex or Atlas, but they would divert spending away from HDFC.
That said, Atlas seems more rewarding for travel, which isn’t a primary spend category for me. I'm not familiar with Amex yet.

Current Annual Spends: ~ ₹12 Lakhs

(Expecting growth due to family expenses, lifestyle inflation, and travel.)

HDFC Spending & Limit:

• HDFC Spends (Last 6 months): ₹4.6L (₹4L in last 4 months)
  • HDFC Credit Limit: < ₹6L

Current Cards:

• HDFC Millennia
  • HDFC Tata Neu
  • HDFC Swiggy
  • Kotak Myntra
  • ICICI Amazon Pay

All are lifetime free.

Upgrade Options:

• Regalia Gold (LTF) upgrade offer for Millennia is available.
    I don’t think it’s worth it — the return is similar, with more hassle. Also, I’d need to shift my AGV (Amazon Pay Gift Voucher) spending to other cards, further limiting RG usage, reducing upgrade prospects.
  • Plan: Will try for DCB upgrade — aiming to meet the ₹5L spend requirement.

Major spend categories:

CategorySpend%Amount (₹)
Amazon GV (Util, Insurance, Misc)33%3,95,000
Flipkart, Myntra Shopping16%1,89,000
Hotels / Flights10%1,18,000
Gold (Myntra, Tanishq GV)8%94,000
Offline Transactions14%1,70,000

PS: I'll add a breakdown of spends in the first reply, kindly refrain from replying to that message as I would like to delete it later.

Rewards Overview:

Estimated Rewards Based on Current Spends:

Card TypeApprox. Value (₹)
Cashback Cards54,400
DCB88,856
Infinia1,31,384

Note: DCB shows ~60% higher rewards vs. cashback cards, but rewards are in miles/points, so there’s a learning curve.

Summary:

1. DCB seems like a good choice and a stepping stone to Infinia (post credit limit increase, <6L as of now).
  2. I won't hit the ₹4L quarterly milestone. (maybe once a year, if stars align).
  3. Should be able to get the annual fee waived (not keen on paying ₹10K).
  4. SmartBuy usage will likely increase with lifestyle upgrades.
  5. I’m open to using the card for rent payments if they’re net-zero or rewarding. (Optional)
  6. I might also buy a car later this year or next, but not sure if the merchant will accept cards.

Doubts:

1. Is DCB the best fit for now, or should I consider Amex, Atlas, or other alternatives? [kindly suggest]

2. Does HDFC consider spends of 2 cards combined for the upgrade?
    As 70% of my spends fall in accelerated categories (~5%) with cashback cards, putting them all on Millennia for 1% seems counterproductive.
    I've spent 4L in the last 4 months on Millenia + Tata Neu combined.

3. Are there any other changes I could make to optimize returns?

Open to suggestions.
Thanks!

Spends Breakdown:

Kindly DO NOT quote this message while replying.

CategorySpend %Total SpendsCashback CardsDCB-DCBInfiniaInfiniaSmartBuy Fees
RateRewardsEff %Mult.Pts.Eff %Mult.Pts.
Amazon GV33%₹3,95,0005%₹19,7505.9%3x₹23,18512.5%5x₹49,5184.13%
GV - Myntra/Tanishq8%₹94,0007%₹6,5805.9%-₹5,51812.5%-₹11,784Buy via A.Pay
Flipkart7%₹79,0005%₹3,9507.0%3x₹5,56813.7%5x₹10,8332.95%
BBasket, Tata Cliq3%₹35,0005%₹1,75010.0%3x₹3,49516.6%5x₹5,825
CaratLane1%₹14,0005%₹7003.3%1x₹4663.3%1x₹466
Myntra9%₹1,10,0007%₹7,70016.6%5x₹18,26016.7%5x₹18,320
Swiggy3%₹34,00010%₹3,40010.0%3x₹3,39016.7%5x₹5,663
SmartBuy (Misc.)0%₹6,0005%₹30016.6%5x₹99816.6%5x₹998
Hotels / Flights10%₹1,18,0003%₹3,54016.6%5x₹19,64516.6%5x₹19,645
Insurance Direct4%₹47,0001%₹4703.3%1x₹1,5663.3%1x₹1,566
Online Retail3%₹33,0001%₹3303.3%1x₹1,0993.3%1x₹1,099
Offline Transactions14%₹1,70,0001%₹1,7003.3%1x₹5,6663.3%1x₹5,666
Govt. Spends6%₹73,0001%₹7300.0%0₹00.0%0₹0
Milestone Rewards₹3,500
Total₹12,08,000₹54,400₹88,856₹1,31,384

Hi folks,

I've been reviewing my recent spends to see if it makes sense to upgrade or add new credit cards for better value. I'd appreciate your views on this.

Goal:

Derive good value from my spends while keeping things simple — I’m okay managing 2–3 cards and doing some tracking.

With the current market, Infinia seems like a decent long-term target. I’m also open to cards like Amex or Atlas, but they would divert spending away from HDFC.
That said, Atlas seems more rewarding for travel, which isn’t a primary spend category for me. I'm not familiar with Amex yet.

HDFC Spending & Limit:

Current Cards:

• HDFC Millennia
  • HDFC Tata Neu
  • HDFC Swiggy
  • Kotak Myntra
  • ICICI Amazon Pay

Upgrade Options:

I don’t think it’s worth it — the return is similar, with more hassle. Also, I’d need to shift my AGV (Amazon Pay Gift Voucher) spending to other cards, further limiting RG usage, reducing upgrade prospects.

Major spend categories:

CategorySpend%Amount (₹)

PS: I'll add a breakdown of spends in the first reply, kindly refrain from replying to that message as I would like to delete it later.

Rewards Overview:

Cashback Cards54,400
DCB88,856
Infinia1,31,384

Note: DCB shows ~60% higher rewards vs. cashback cards, but rewards are in miles/points, so there’s a learning curve.

Summary:

1. DCB seems like a good choice and a stepping stone to Infinia (post credit limit increase, <6L as of now).
  2. I won't hit the ₹4L quarterly milestone. (maybe once a year, if stars align).
  5. I’m open to using the card for rent payments if they’re net-zero or rewarding. (Optional)
  6. I might also buy a car later this year or next, but not sure if the merchant will accept cards.

Doubts:

1. Is DCB the best fit for now, or should I consider Amex, Atlas, or other alternatives? [kindly suggest]

As 70% of my spends fall in accelerated categories (~5%) with cashback cards, putting them all on Millennia for 1% seems counterproductive.

Open to suggestions.
Thanks!
Consolidate HDFC spends on Millennia only, stop using Tata Neu unless NeuCoins are valuable. Amex/Atlas not needed unless travel becomes >25% of spends.

Hi folks,

Goal:

HDFC Spending & Limit:

Current Cards:

• HDFC Millennia
  • HDFC Tata Neu
  • HDFC Swiggy
  • Kotak Myntra
  • ICICI Amazon Pay

All are lifetime free.

Upgrade Options:

Major spend categories:

CategorySpend%Amount (₹)

Rewards Overview:

Cashback Cards54,400
DCB88,856
Infinia1,31,384

Summary:

Doubts:

Open to suggestions.
Thanks!
1. For current all over spending, dcbm is overall star as it covers minimum 5% on all transaction if quarterly spends is 4 lacs.

2. No, they cover seperate spendings.

3. Spending will be increased by 1 lakhs per quarter

Hi folks,

Goal:

HDFC Spending & Limit:

Current Cards:

• HDFC Millennia
  • HDFC Tata Neu
  • HDFC Swiggy
  • Kotak Myntra
  • ICICI Amazon Pay

All are lifetime free.

Upgrade Options:

Major spend categories:

CategorySpend%Amount (₹)

Rewards Overview:

Cashback Cards54,400
DCB88,856
Infinia1,31,384

Summary:

Doubts:

Open to suggestions.
Thanks!
Just a small suggestion, try thinking of DCB Metal only if you can spend 8 lakhs in every year else you need to pay almost 12000 as card annual charges

Yeah, that's the main red flag.
I should be able to reach 8L if I divert all my spends to it.
Lower acceptance may create some issues for a few large offline purchases.

But hopefully it would help me transfer some spends to HDFC, unlike Millennia, which has low rewards except few categories.

Hi folks,

Goal:

HDFC Spending & Limit:

Current Cards:

• HDFC Millennia
  • HDFC Tata Neu
  • HDFC Swiggy
  • Kotak Myntra
  • ICICI Amazon Pay

All are lifetime free.

Upgrade Options:

Major spend categories:

CategorySpend%Amount (₹)

Rewards Overview:

Cashback Cards54,400
DCB88,856
Infinia1,31,384

Summary:

Doubts:

Open to suggestions.
Thanks!
Let me keep it simple and try address your doubts
1. Amex (pls specify which Amex). Atlas is a travel oriented card while your travel expenses are meagre 10% and therefore you need revisit this combo.
Since you are high on online shopping with ~60% (Amazon, Flipkart, Myntra etc.) and 14% offline expense DCB, Infinia and EPM work you better given their base rate itself is 3.3%.
DCB comes with many benefits excellent lounge network, base rate, milestone benefits, accelerated rewards etc. if used well and specially with milestone benefits, it sometimes is better than Infinia. DCB downside: acceptability
2. Only 1 card spends considered for upgrade.

Major spend categories:

CategorySpend%Amount (₹)

Summary:

Dcb is a great option. But Try to cross 5L spends before applying for it.
  1. I won't hit the ₹4L quarterly milestone. (maybe once a year, if stars align).
you need to plan your spends properly. Try to pre/postpone some spends to reach the milestone

1. might also buy a car later this year or next, but not sure if the merchant will accept cards.
Yes merchant will accept. But most would Try to pass on some mdr hit. It depends on many factors - your negotiation skill, business size/mentality of merchant. But most important factor is which vehicle you are choosing. Shouldn't be too optimistic if you choose car in high demand- fortuner/hyrider, creta/seltos, dzire/gv/Brezza, nec etc. Don't disclose you want to use the cc from beginning. Ask for cash discount.

Also use cc for booking amount. Most wouldn't ask for mdr for booking amount. get mcc code to verify whether you'll get rewards on the card you're planning to use.

Doubts:

Dcb is simpler card to track. I would convenience over little extra return.

1. Does HDFC consider spends of 2 cards combined for the upgrade?
Generally they don't. But there are some lucky few who have convinced hdfc . One member was able to convince hdfc to look at tata neu spends instead of core card for infinnia upgrade .

DCB would be a great addition imo. As per your spends 8L seems possible on DCB even if we exclude offline and other online transactions. For those I think using Atlas would be good even if you are hitting 3L every year. It would solve the acceptance issue of DCB too. You can accumulate points which would be helpful for future travels. You'll get around 17k Accor points on 3L spends (excluding welcome/renewal and accelerated rewards) for 5.9k fees.
For car purchase, negotiate the amount first before talking about CC. Once the rate is finalized, you can negotiate for MDR. Most showrooms are not aware of higher MDR on Diners so just tell them you'll be using HDFC card. If Diners doesn't work, you'll have Atlas as fallback.