₹1 Cr in the Bank, New to Credit Cards — Which Premium Banking & Cards Would You Go For?

Infinia

Imagine you're just starting out in the credit card world and suddenly have ₹1 crore sitting in your bank account — not for spending, but purely to meet eligibility criteria for any premium credit card or top-tier banking relationship in India.
  • What premium banking program would you go after first — HDFC Imperia, Axis Burgundy, Kotak Privy League, ICICI Wealth, or something else? Why?
  • What are your monthly spends like, and how would you use those to maximise points, perks, or travel benefits?
  • If you had the chance to apply for any card today (Infinia, Axis Reserve, Axis Magnus Burgundy etc.), which one would you choose?
  • And as someone new to this space, what common mistakes would you avoid?

Curious to hear your strategies, red flags, and card picks!

If you’ve got 50 lakh sitting in your HDFC savings account, you’re not just banking, you’re entering the VIP zone. Here’s what that kind of balance can unlock

You’ll likely be auto-upgraded to HDFC Imperia. That gets you a dedicated relationship manager, priority service, higher ATM limits, and access to better loan deals. Basically, no more standing in line like the rest of us

You become eligible for premium credit cards like Infinia. That card gives you crazy rewards, unlimited airport lounge access, and a concierge service that can book everything except your future

They may also throw in exclusive investment offers, early locker access, and sweet home loan rates. The bank starts treating you like royalty and suddenly remembers your name before your account number

So with 50 lakh in the account, you don’t just earn interest. You earn upgrades, respect, and perks you never knew you needed. Just use it smartly or all the benefits will stay in their brochure and not in your life
Believe me, 50 lakhs isn’t anything for HDFC. I have kept crores with them and they don’t care at all. Only small finance banks would respect you for keeping 50 lakhs today. Now, with the new HDFC criteria, 1 crore can make you eligible to apply for Infinia if you satisfy other eligibility requirements. That’s the only benefit. There is no priority service at HDFC. At best, they will send you to an RM. Only some banks like RBL have a dedicated lounge at some branches for elite customers and in other smaller banks, you can go sit in the manager’s office if you keep a decent balance. I have kept high end accounts with decent amounts with most banks for years. None have good service.