Emergency fund parking options

kunaljn91

Hi All, I am looking for some suggestions on where to park emergency funds.
Since you are talking about emergency fund, its best to keep in savings account! Rather than anywhere else!
=> Savings account which pays high interest rate (you can consider AU/RBL here)

As per the book, two things should always be ensured!
1. It should be readily liquidable!
2. It should be having almost 0% risk!

SiddharthR

Hi All, I am looking for some suggestions on where to park emergency funds.
According to me, open a FD in bank with the term giving highest interest rates and break the FD incase of emergency. A penalty will be charged but still you will get better returns than Savings account & Liquid Funds.

Penalty:
HDFC: 1% less than interest rate at the period of breaking FD.
SBI : 0.5% less than interest rate at the period of breaking FD.(upto ₹5,00,000)
1%
less than interest rate at the period of breaking FD.(above ₹5,00,000)

raghumahajan

According to me, open a FD in bank with the term giving highest interest rates and break the FD incase of emergency. A penalty will be charged but still you will get better returns than Savings account & Liquid Funds.

Penalty:
HDFC: 1% less than interest rate at the period of breaking FD.
SBI : 0.5% less than interest rate at the period of breaking FD.(upto ₹5,00,000)
1%
less than interest rate at the period of breaking FD.(above ₹5,00,000)

The penalty does not work like this.

Example: If you have done FD for one year in SBI @7%/annum interest, but you break the FD within 3 months. It will give you interest of 3 months plan i.e., ~4%/annum - 0.5%(penalty) = 3.5%/annum.

Saving bank account also gives 3.5%/annum interest. So FD makes no sense.

technoboy99

I see that most people are recommending a mixture of Savings Bank Account(Banks may fall in a big financial emergency, so you might not be able to use your emergency fund!), Fixed deposits(have charges on early withdrawal) and short term debt fund (Debt is risky too, especially in times of financial instability, Ex. 2008 Subprime crisis).

My recommendation will be to buy Central Govt bonds and Sovereign Gold bonds either in 75:25 ratio either directly or through Gilt and Gold Mutual Funds. Even in times of extreme turbulence, govt of india will never default and you’d earn a bit more than FD interests in Central govt. bonds and withdrawal has almost no penalty(Gilt Mutual funds usually have no exit load 14 days after investing).

m4b

Bhai naam mein emergency hai, I would keep an emergency fund in savings any day and I do as well for anytime liquidity. Emergency funds shouldn't be used for any investment purpose. That's my opinion.
HDFC, SBI, AXIS, ICICI ye sari badi banks ek din mein ni girrne wale.
Don't keep more than 5L in any bank account try to distribute across multiple banks.

Rishabh

Linked FDs better than keeping in saving account, dual benefit of Higher Rates & funds availability for Withdrawal as usual like Savings !!

iamdhamo

A liquid mutual fund as we can redeem quickly if it's during market hours and high interest savings bank acc upto 5L and most probably it will be small finance Bank like equitas

Also for 3 months time frame we can consider 91D tbill

suhasa010

I see that most people are recommending a mixture of Savings Bank Account(Banks may fall in a big financial emergency, so you might not be able to use your emergency fund!), Fixed deposits(have charges on early withdrawal) and short term debt fund (Debt is risky too, especially in times of financial instability, Ex. 2008 Subprime crisis).

My recommendation will be to buy Central Govt bonds and Sovereign Gold bonds either in 75:25 ratio either directly or through Gilt and Gold Mutual Funds. Even in times of extreme turbulence, govt of india will never default and you’d earn a bit more than FD interests in Central govt. bonds and withdrawal has almost no penalty(Gilt Mutual funds usually have no exit load 14 days after investing).
But Sovereign Gold Bonds have 5-7 yr maturity!
Emergency funds should be liquid, not locked-in!

iamdhamo

Can you explain this ??
It's the interest for 91day t bill by government which is the safest for shorter period wrt interest
If u invest 10k the 9830 will be debited from broker acc and during maturity we will get as 10k. Interest Is paid upfront. If u have zerodha then u can check the tbill which is lowest wet price n buy it

Pradumya

Go for sweep account with any any bank for upto 4.5lac. each

The goal should not be to look at interest rates in case of emergency funds.
You can always increase your fund size to beat inflation.

The goal should be to park it such that you can access that in less than 24 hours.

Savings bank - best for emergency fund but risk is that you may spend the money elsewhere. Option to not activate the UPI or netbanking of this account. Just use ATM card and cheque book.

Regular FD - might not be accessible instantly in case of non working days. I won't say premature withdrawal penalties are any issue bcz you should not focus on interest rate.

Debt/Liquid funds - very illiquid as the withdrawal may take time and more time in case of non working days or long weekends.

Someone also said government bonds - just avoid that bcz all of them have lock-in periods and you don't know when emergency might come. Yes bonds can be sold in secondary market but no surity of buyer.

Best option - Sweep FD account - there is sweep in sweep out account that can be used for this purpose, mostly comes with no premature withdrawal penalties, but confirm this in writing from bank.

If this was helpful, mark it as solution