Using Credit Cards Since 2012. AMA for any doubts

• Thread starter Thread starter iShazam
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 24
  • Views Views 2K

iShazam

Holding Credit cards since 2012

Redeeming Credit Card Reward points mostly for Flight Tickets since 2012. #goa/Delhi/kolkata/mumbai/bangalore/jammu

For Reward points spends (Online/Offline) - Axis Magnus (For milestone and Accelerated Rewards)
For Fuel - Till now ICICI Sapphiro Amex now changed to Axis IOCL card
Flights - Vistara Infinite for Gold membership/Magnus for Miles
UPI - HDFC Regalia Rupay Select

Axis Magnus CC - Rs 10K per annum
Axis Vistara Infinite CC - Rs 10K per annum
Axis IOCL Rupay CC - Rs 500 Per annum (Got 2500 ER points when asked to close the card)
Citibank IOCL CC - Rs 1000 per annum (Waived on Spends of Rs 30000 per annum) Not paid once since last 12 years
ICICI Sapphiro American Express CC - LTF (Best mobile application of all. As good as its branch)
ICICI Sapphiro Mastercard CC -LTF
ICICI Amazon Pay Visa CC -LTF
HDFC Regalia Rupay Select CC - LTF ( Initially had VISA converted to Rupay with a mail)
IDFC First Select Visa Signature CC - LTF (Lounge access incl Railway lounges and breakdown assistance is awesome)
BOB Premier Rupay CC - LTF
Standard Chartered Manhattan Visa CC - Rs 999 per annum (Waived on Spends of Rs 120000 per annum) Paid once however customer card returned 50% of the fee. Customer care is one of the best in the category.)
SBI SimplySAVE CC - Rs 500 per annum (Initially had SBI Air India Signature till 2020; then downgraded to SBI BPCL Card; then again downgraded to this)
KOTAK League Platinum CC - LTF

Hdfc regalia converted to Rupay how? Please share the details
send a mail to customerservices.cards@hdfcbank.com with the following line "Request you to kindly convert my credit card ending with xxx from Visa to Rupay platform. (Also please confirm the card remains LTF as my Visa variant is LTF)<< delete if not required"

How did you get so many LTF from ICICI?

Asking as I am planning to get a couple of LTF from ICICI. Currently have a salary account in ICICI, ICICI Amazon Pay with high limit, a FD and all in all a good NRV

How did you get so many LTF from ICICI?

Asking as I am planning to get a couple of LTF from ICICI. Currently have a salary account in ICICI, ICICI Amazon Pay with high limit, a FD and all in all a good NRV
I had a salary account with them for a few years. Then one day I was offered a credit card in the app. This was 2020 if i remember correctly. I applied and got the sapphiro amex and mastercard variant. Still going that way. Try you should get it as well

Redeeming Credit Card Reward points mostly for Flight Tickets since 2012. #goa/Delhi/kolkata/mumbai/bangalore/jammu

For Reward points spends (Online/Offline) - Axis Magnus (For milestone and Accelerated Rewards)

Axis IOCL Rupay CC - Rs 500 Per annum (Got 2500 ER points when asked to close the card)
Citibank IOCL CC - Rs 1000 per annum (Waived on Spends of Rs 30000 per annum) Not paid once since last 12 years
ICICI Sapphiro American Express CC - LTF (Best mobile application of all. As good as its branch)
HDFC Regalia Rupay Select CC - LTF ( Initially had VISA converted to Rupay with a mail)
IDFC First Select Visa Signature CC - LTF (Lounge access incl Railway lounges and breakdown assistance is awesome)
Standard Chartered Manhattan Visa CC - Rs 999 per annum (Waived on Spends of Rs 120000 per annum) Paid once however customer card returned 50% of the fee. Customer care is one of the best in the category.)
SBI SimplySAVE CC - Rs 500 per annum (Initially had SBI Air India Signature till 2020; then downgraded to SBI BPCL Card; then again downgraded to this)
Thanks for sharing your collection of cc 🤩 , this should be in share and brag thread so more people can know about this, if you are ok I can move this thread and merge in this thread only if you ok with it

https://www.technofino.in/community/threads/💳-share-brag-your-credit-card-portfolio-here-🤑.18/page-85#post-205039

Thanks for sharing your collection of cc 🤩 , this should be in share and brag thread so more people can know about this, if you are ok I can move this thread and merge in this thread only if you ok with it

https://www.technofino.in/community/threads/💳-share-brag-your-credit-card-portfolio-here-🤑.18/page-85#post-205039
Hi there. Thanks for that. I have already shared it without any context over the brag thread. This was for the AMA session right now. If there are no issues let it be here. Thanks

What is the benefits of fuel cards? Nowadays most cards come with 1% fuel surcharge wavier. Any added benefits?
Is it worth to paying 10K for Axis magnus/visa infinite card? I am planning to take one.
TIA.

What is the benefits of fuel cards? Nowadays most cards come with 1% fuel surcharge wavier. Any added benefits?
Is it worth to paying 10K for Axis magnus/visa infinite card? I am planning to take one.
TIA.
As per as fuel cards is concerned. I had 3 since last 10 years. Citibank IOCL was the most rewarding but very restricted in location of fuel pumps. Sbi bpcl card is as bad as it can be. Axis iocl is now rewarding after I got magnus as it gives 20 points per 100 rs and 1 percent surcharge wavier. These points are the same as magnus one so for one time spending gives around 800 ER points. Thats the max value it provides as its approx 640 miles per refuel. Around 9600 ER points in a year and 8000 miles. Thats my logic. If the reward points are differentiated then its useless again. Also axis gave me 2500 ER Points when i ask them to cancel the card.

Is it only through Vistara or any other way as well?
TIA.
Tickets are from Air India primarily and now its vistara. I have earned around 4lakh + miles using the Air India signature card since 2016. 80k miles still left with me. So now its both airindia and vistara for award tickets.

Axis Vistara worth it? Its a profitable card. One business class ticket and 10k cv points covers the joining fees. Vistara gold membership is just made for me as i travel every 2 month or so. Icing on the cake.

After magnus Ill shift my spends on it from vistara but keep it even if I get a business class ticket for the vistara gold membership. There is a chance thats it merges with Air India flying returns and retains the gold membership over there too. Thats just my assumption

I'd appreciate if you can share your experience in seeing the changes that have been observed in the 10+ years of your experience along with how the market was in 2012 compared to now.

If you can also enlighten the community on these points, it would be an eye-opener for sure:
1. What are the credit cards that you missed applying and regret not doing so.
2. What was the most beneficial card 10 years back.
3. Who were dominating the market back then.
4. What was the reward structure like, compared to now.
5. What were the average annual and joining fees that was in roll out back then.
6. What card from a bank should you think should be re-introduced according to you.

Of course, there are more questions that are there but for now, I could only think of the ones mentioned above. All of these questions do not apply specifically to OP. If someone else has a similar or even longer history, please share.

I'd appreciate if you can share your experience in seeing the changes that have been observed in the 10+ years of your experience along with how the market was in 2012 compared to now.

If you can also enlighten the community on these points, it would be an eye-opener for sure:
1. What are the credit cards that you missed applying and regret not doing so.
2. What was the most beneficial card 10 years back.
3. Who were dominating the market back then.
4. What was the reward structure like, compared to now.
5. What were the average annual and joining fees that was in roll out back then.
6. What card from a bank should you think should be re-introduced according to you.

Of course, there are more questions that are there but for now, I could only think of the ones mentioned above. All of these questions do not apply specifically to OP. If someone else has a similar or even longer history, please share.
Okay, 10 years back most of the middle class didn't have credit cards. The scene was pretty the same till 2018-19. However with Ola, Uber, Zomato, and other startups and discounts provided by CC; the info and acceptance has increased. Mobile penetration and digital India campaign played a major role. PAndemic almost forced the use of CC. UPI is the only other digital alternative in the payments aspect. Now let's answer your questions.

1. I did apply for the cards I required except for HDFC Infinia. It was the king however I was not inclined due to the fees associated. Always wanted an HDFC CC but only got it in 2021.
2. SBI Air India Signature card was the most beneficial. Has taken more than 50 tickets (Approx) for various sectors since 2016. Including goa, Andaman, and Northeast.
3. HDFC credit cards always dominated. SBI was also doing good. Citibank IOCL card was fire till 2017 when I was in NCR. Almost got a free full tank after every 4 months. Now it's not worth it. As of now, Vistara Infinite is very good as it provides definite privileges you can use. Magnus is for the reward points.
4. Reward structure is almost similar except for Magnus 01 lakh milestone spends.
5. Joining fees was also similar. Can be devided between LTF, spend base wavier, low priced ones and high-end ones. I had SBI Air India signature for 5000 joining fees.
6. IF SBI launches an upgraded SBI Air India Signature card with priviliges similar to Axis Vistara Infinite will apply for it in a heartbeat. The 30x reward points per 100 spent on Air India website bookings is just Lit.

Hope it clarifies somethings. Cheers

@iShazam i just have one one question. How did you manage to pay the card bill at that time when payment apps aren't a thing. Did net banking supported bill payments? And how many days it used to take to settle the bill.

Also did you ever had to visit the bank to pay the credit card bill?

@iShazam i just have one one question. How did you manage to pay the card bill at that time when payment apps aren't a thing. Did net banking supported bill payments? And how many days it used to take to settle the bill.

Also did you ever had to visit the bank to pay the credit card bill?
hi @sriteja so I usually had around 5 credit cards from 2012-2020. It was pretty decent experience because one was main card. One was for fuel. One for groceries. And banking apps were the best way to check status of payments. Payment was mostly NEFT which use to reflect between 1 hr to 2 days. When cred came tracking is pretty easy now. Still use cred for the same.

how did you got axis iocl card?